Skip to main content
YieldMaple
Open menu

Review Travel rewards credit card

Amex Aeroplan Card Review 2026: Up to 45K Points Worth It?

By Alex Francisco Updated Figures checked 5 min read Our score 4.2/5

Is the Amex Aeroplan Card worth it in 2026?

The Amex Aeroplan Card costs $120 a year and offers up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13. Amex values the full welcome offer at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more). The card earns 2 points per $1 directly with Air Canada and includes a free first checked bag for up to 9 travellers on one reservation. YieldMaple checked Amex's Aeroplan Card page on October 11, 2026: the fee rises to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027.

  • The Amex Aeroplan Card annual fee is $120, rising to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027.
  • The Amex Aeroplan Card welcome offer is up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13.
  • Amex estimates the full Aeroplan Card welcome offer at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more).
  • The Amex Aeroplan Card earns 2 Aeroplan points per $1 directly with Air Canada; 1.5 points per $1 at restaurants, coffee shops, bars and food delivery in Canada; 1 point per $1 on other purchases.
  • Aeroplan Card holders get a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight, which Amex values at $140 (Amex's estimate for two people on one round trip).
  • The Amex Aeroplan Card is a charge card with no preset spending limit; the balance must be paid in full each month; balances not paid in full are charged 30% a year on balances not paid in full.

— YieldMaple, figures checked against official sources on October 11, 2026.

Best for

Canadians who fly Air Canada a few times a year, can meet the welcome-offer spending in the first 6 months, pay the full balance every month and will use the free first checked bag.

Not for

Anyone who carries a balance (unpaid balances are charged 30% a year on balances not paid in full), and anyone who wants lounge access or travel medical insurance on the card.

Bottom line

The Amex Aeroplan Card costs $120 a year until the fee rises to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027. Its value is front-loaded: Amex estimates the welcome offer at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more), but the full offer takes 13 months and a second annual fee. After that, the fee is earned back mainly through the free first checked bag and 2X points on Air Canada, so the card fits regular Air Canada travellers better than occasional ones.

4.2 /5 (Our score)

Pros

  • Welcome offer of up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13
  • Earns 2 Aeroplan points per $1 directly with Air Canada; 1.5 points per $1 at restaurants, coffee shops, bars and food delivery in Canada; 1 point per $1 on other purchases
  • Includes a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight
  • Annual fee of $120, well below the Aeroplan Reserve's $599
  • Counts toward Aeroplan Elite Status: 1,000 Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) for every $20,000 in eligible net purchases, up to 25,000 SQC
  • Flight delay, baggage, hotel burglary, rental car and travel accident insurance included

Cons

  • The annual fee rises to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027
  • It is a charge card with no preset spending limit; the balance must be paid in full each month; balances not paid in full are charged 30% a year on balances not paid in full
  • The main welcome tranche takes heavy spending: 35,000 Aeroplan points after $7,500 in net purchases in the first 6 months
  • Amex's Aeroplan Card page lists no out-of-province emergency medical or trip cancellation insurance
  • Amex's Aeroplan Card page lists no airport lounge access (Maple Leaf Lounge access comes with the Aeroplan Reserve)
  • Purchases outside Air Canada, dining and Hyatt earn the base rate: 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on everything else

The Amex Aeroplan Card sits below the Aeroplan Reserve in American Express Canada’s Aeroplan line-up: a lower annual fee, a smaller welcome offer, no lounge access listed, and a free first checked bag on Air Canada. This review shows what the card costs, what Amex says its perks are worth, and where the numbers stop working. It is general education, not financial advice.

For other travel options: Amex Cobalt (stronger everyday earn rate), Aeroplan Reserve (premium tier with lounge access), Marriott Bonvoy Amex (hotels). Full ranking in Best Aeroplan Credit Cards 2026.

Amex Aeroplan Card at a glance

American Express Aeroplan Card: fee, earn rates and benefits (checked October 11, 2026)
American Express Aeroplan Card: fee, earn rates and benefits (checked October 11, 2026)
Item Current figure Source
American Express Aeroplan Card annual fee $120 americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card annual fee from January 12, 2027 $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027 americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card type a charge card with no preset spending limit; the balance must be paid in full each month americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
Interest on American Express Aeroplan Card balances not paid in full 30% a year on balances not paid in full americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card welcome offer up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13 americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
Who can get the American Express Aeroplan Card welcome offer new American Express Aeroplan Cardmembers only; current or former Cardmembers with this card are not eligible americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card earn rate on Air Canada purchases 2 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible purchases made directly with Air Canada and Air Canada Vacations americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card earn rate on dining and food delivery 1.5 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible dining and food delivery purchases in Canada americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card earn rate at Hyatt hotels 1.5 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible purchases made directly with participating Hyatt hotels and resorts, from July 15, 2026 to July 15, 2029 americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card base earn rate 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on everything else americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
Free first checked bag on Aeroplan co-branded cards (Amex, TD and CIBC wording) a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
Status Qualifying Credits earned on the American Express Aeroplan Card 1,000 Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) for every $20,000 in eligible net purchases, up to 25,000 SQC americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
Aeroplan points expiry for American Express Aeroplan Cardmembers Aeroplan points do not expire while you are the Basic Cardmember on an American Express Aeroplan card and your Aeroplan account is in good standing americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card additional card fee $50 a year for each additional Aeroplan Card americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026
American Express Aeroplan Card no-fee additional card $0 a year for each Additional Aeroplan No Fee Card americanexpress.com Verified October 11, 2026

In short: the annual fee is $120, rising to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027. The card is a charge card with no preset spending limit; the balance must be paid in full each month, and Amex charges 30% a year on balances not paid in full. The welcome offer is up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13, for new American Express Aeroplan Cardmembers only; current or former Cardmembers with this card are not eligible; Amex values it at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more).

The card earns 2 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible purchases made directly with Air Canada and Air Canada Vacations, 1.5 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible dining and food delivery purchases in Canada, 1.5 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible purchases made directly with participating Hyatt hotels and resorts, from July 15, 2026 to July 15, 2029, and 1 Aeroplan point per $1 on everything else. Benefits include a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight and 1,000 Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) for every $20,000 in eligible net purchases, up to 25,000 SQC. Per Amex, Aeroplan points do not expire while you are the Basic Cardmember on an American Express Aeroplan card and your Aeroplan account is in good standing. Additional cards cost $50 a year for each additional Aeroplan Card ($59 from January 12, 2027) or $0 a year for each Additional Aeroplan No Fee Card (renamed the Companion Card at $25 a year from January 12, 2027). Amex’s page lists no airport lounge access for this card.

YieldMaple checked Amex’s Aeroplan Card page on October 11, 2026. The fee, earn rates and welcome offer above are the public offer shown on that page. Offers change, an offer reached through another link can differ, and the one shown when you apply is the one that counts.

How much is the Amex Aeroplan welcome bonus worth?

Amex values the full Amex Aeroplan welcome offer at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more), but reaching it takes 13 months, heavy spending and a second annual fee.

The offer comes in two parts. The first is 35,000 Aeroplan points after $7,500 in net purchases in the first 6 months, which works out to about $1,250 a month on a card that has to be paid in full. The second is 10,000 more Aeroplan points when you spend $1,000 in month 13, and under Amex’s terms the card must be kept into the second year of Cardmembership, and the second-year annual fee is payable.

The offer has eligibility limits. It is for new American Express Aeroplan Cardmembers only; current or former Cardmembers with this card are not eligible, and Amex’s terms say applicants may not be eligible if they already received welcome or incentive Aeroplan points on an Aeroplan card of the same category from another issuer. Amex also says to allow up to eight weeks after the points are earned for the bonus to be awarded.

That second year matters because of the fee change. Anyone approved now pays $120 up front and then $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027 at the first renewal, so the full offer costs $270 in fees. Set against Amex’s maximum estimate, that leaves up to $630 of flight value, before counting points earned on regular spending.

Amex’s estimate assumes $0.02 a point or more on flights (Amex's figure, based on most Aeroplan Cardmembers' flight redemptions from November 8, 2020 to September 1, 2025). The same page carries the caveat: Aeroplan points have no cash value, and the retail value of a reward varies with the type of reward. Amex’s own headline figure is up to $1,550 or more in the first 13 months, before the annual fee (Amex's estimate: up to $900 from the welcome offer, about $515 from spending and $140 from benefits).

How many Aeroplan points does the Amex Aeroplan Card earn in a year?

On Amex’s own example, the Amex Aeroplan Card earns 25,750 points a year on $21,500 of purchases ($3,000 at 2X, $2,500 at 1.5X and $16,000 at 1X), which Amex values at $515.

That example checks out against the earn rates: 25,750 points, an average of about 1.2 points per dollar.

Here is a second worked example for a household that flies Air Canada a couple of times a year. The spending amounts are hypothetical:

  • $2,000 of Air Canada flights at 2 points per dollar: 4,000 points
  • $3,000 of restaurants and food delivery in Canada at 1.5 points per dollar: 4,500 points
  • $15,000 of everything else at 1 point per dollar: 15,000 points

That is 23,500 points a year. At Amex’s estimate of $0.02 a point or more on flights (Amex's figure, based on most Aeroplan Cardmembers' flight redemptions from November 8, 2020 to September 1, 2025), those points are worth about $470 in flights, or $320 after the higher annual fee. Reaching that level of spending also earns status credit, since Amex gives 1,000 Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) for every $20,000 in eligible net purchases, up to 25,000 SQC.

The points value is Amex’s estimate, not a guarantee: Aeroplan points have no cash value, and the retail value of a reward varies with the type of reward.

Is the free first checked bag worth it?

For families on Air Canada, the free first checked bag is the benefit most likely to cover the fee after year one.

Cardholders get a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight. Amex values it at $140 (Amex's estimate for two people on one round trip), which is four checked bags (two people, two flights), or about $35 a bag. On that basis, a family of four saves about $280 on one Air Canada round trip, and the $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027 fee is covered by roughly 5 checked bags a year. These are estimates built on Amex’s own valuation of the benefit, not on Air Canada’s published bag fees.

Amex’s terms limit the benefit to up to 23 kg (50 lb) a bag for up to 9 travellers on one reservation, when checking in with Air Canada for a flight operated by Air Canada, Air Canada Rouge or Air Canada Express.

Where does the Amex Aeroplan Card fall short?

The Amex Aeroplan Card’s weak spot is everyday earning: outside Air Canada, dining and Hyatt, it earns 1 point per dollar.

The standard earn schedule is 2 Aeroplan points per $1 directly with Air Canada; 1.5 points per $1 at restaurants, coffee shops, bars and food delivery in Canada; 1 point per $1 on other purchases; the Hyatt rate is a dated addition on top. Amex’s terms exclude groceries from the dining rate, so groceries, gas and most bills earn the base rate. The Amex Cobalt, by comparison, earns 5 points per $1 at eligible restaurants, coffee shops, bars, stand-alone grocery stores and food delivery in Canada, on up to $2,500 in combined net purchases a month, then 1 point per $1. On $500 a month at stand-alone grocery stores, the Aeroplan Card earns 6,000 Aeroplan points a year, while the Cobalt earns 30,000 Membership Rewards points a year, a different points program with its own redemption rules. The Cobalt fee is $15.99 a month ($191.88 a year) outside Quebec; Quebec residents pay $191.88 once a year.

Other gaps:

  • It is a charge card. The balance must be paid in full; anything left over is charged 30% a year on balances not paid in full.
  • No travel medical insurance. Amex’s page lists no out-of-province emergency medical or trip cancellation cover on this card.
  • No lounge access listed. Maple Leaf Lounge access is a Reserve benefit.
  • Foreign-currency purchases. Amex’s product page does not state what the card charges on them, so the rate has to be confirmed in the card’s disclosure documents.

Does the Amex Aeroplan Card include travel insurance?

Yes, the Amex Aeroplan Card includes travel insurance, but not emergency medical or trip cancellation cover.

What Amex lists for this card:

  • Flight delay insurance: up to $500 (combined maximum with baggage delay insurance)
  • Lost or stolen baggage: up to $500 per trip for all insured persons combined
  • Hotel burglary: up to $500
  • Car rental theft and damage: cars with an MSRP up to $85,000, on rentals of 48 days or less
  • Travel accident: up to $500,000
  • Purchase Protection Plan: 90 days from the date of purchase against accidental physical damage or theft, up to $1,000 per occurrence

The Aeroplan Reserve adds out-of-province emergency medical cover of up to $5,000,000 for the first 15 consecutive days of a trip, if you are under 65. Amex notes that all insurance coverage is subject to the terms of its master policies, with limitations and exclusions, and tells cardholders to read their Certificates of Insurance carefully.

Amex Aeroplan Card vs Aeroplan Reserve

The Reserve costs $599 a year (rising to $799 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027) against $120 for the Aeroplan Card. For the extra fee, the Reserve adds complimentary access to Maple Leaf Lounges and Air Canada Cafés in Canada and the United States, 3 Aeroplan points per $1 on eligible Air Canada and Air Canada Vacations purchases, a companion pass (one Companion Pass a year after $25,000 in net purchases before your card anniversary; the companion's Air Canada economy base fare is fixed at $99 to $599, plus taxes and fees) and medical insurance. Both cards include the free first checked bag. The full breakdown is in the Aeroplan Reserve review.

Who the Amex Aeroplan Card suits (and who it doesn’t)

It suits people who fly Air Canada several times a year, often with family, and pay the balance in full every month. For them the checked-bag benefit and 2X on Air Canada purchases cover the fee, and the welcome offer is a year-one bonus on top.

It doesn’t suit people who fly Air Canada once a year or less, anyone who carries a balance, or anyone who wants lounge access or medical cover from one card. After year one the choice is keep or cancel. Aeroplan cards from TD and CIBC are separate applications with their own fees, such as the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite at $139.

Bottom line

The Amex Aeroplan Card is a low-cost way into Amex’s Aeroplan cards. Year one is driven by the welcome offer, which Amex values at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more) against $270 in fees over the 13 months it takes. From year two, the $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027 fee is earned back through checked bags and Air Canada spending, or not at all.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Amex Aeroplan Card worth it?

For regular Air Canada travellers who pay in full, usually yes in the first 13 months. The Amex Aeroplan Card costs $120 a year and offers up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13, which Amex values at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more). After that, the value comes from 2 points per $1 on Air Canada and the free first checked bag. The fee rises to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027, so occasional flyers get less from it.

What's the Amex Aeroplan Card welcome bonus?

The current offer is up to 45,000 Aeroplan points: 35,000 after $7,500 in purchases in the first 6 months, plus 10,000 when you spend $1,000 in month 13. Amex values the full offer at up to $900 in flights (Amex's estimate, at $0.02 a point or more). It is for new American Express Aeroplan Cardmembers only; current or former Cardmembers with this card are not eligible. Amex's terms add that applicants may not be eligible if they already received welcome or incentive Aeroplan points on an Aeroplan card of the same category from another issuer. Amex says to allow up to eight weeks after the points are earned for the bonus to be awarded.

What is the Amex Aeroplan Card annual fee?

The Amex Aeroplan Card annual fee is $120. Amex's page says the fee rises to $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027, so anyone approved now pays the new fee at their first renewal. Each additional card costs $50 a year for each additional Aeroplan Card, rising to $59 from January 12, 2027. Amex's product page, checked October 11, 2026, lists no first-year fee waiver.

Amex Aeroplan vs Aeroplan Reserve — which one?

The Aeroplan Reserve costs $599 a year and adds Maple Leaf Lounge access, a higher earn rate on Air Canada and an annual companion pass after heavy spending. The Amex Aeroplan Card costs $120 and keeps the free first checked bag. The Reserve only pays off if the lounge and companion pass get regular use; Amex itself values Reserve lounge access at up to $590 a year (Amex's estimate, based on up to 5 visits a year with a guest).

Is the Amex Aeroplan worth keeping after year one?

It depends on Air Canada trips. From year two the fee is $150 on annual fees charged on or after January 12, 2027, and the welcome offer ends after month 13. Amex values the free first checked bag at $140 (Amex's estimate for two people on one round trip), so on Amex's figure two such round trips a year on Air Canada come to more than the fee. Without regular Air Canada trips, the fee has to be earned back from points alone.

Does the Amex Aeroplan offer lounge access?

No. Amex's Aeroplan Card page, checked October 11, 2026, lists no Maple Leaf Lounge access, Priority Pass or other airport lounge membership. Among Amex's personal Aeroplan cards, lounge access comes with the Aeroplan Reserve ($599 a year), which gives complimentary access to Maple Leaf Lounges and Air Canada Cafés in Canada and the United States, with one guest per eligible Cardmember. Amex estimates that benefit at up to $590 a year (Amex's estimate, based on up to 5 visits a year with a guest).

What's the free checked bag benefit?

Amex Aeroplan Card holders get a free first checked bag for you and up to eight companions on the same reservation, when travel starts on an Air Canada flight. Amex's terms set the limits: up to 23 kg (50 lb) a bag for up to 9 travellers on one reservation, when checking in with Air Canada for a flight operated by Air Canada, Air Canada Rouge or Air Canada Express. Amex values the benefit at $140 (Amex's estimate for two people on one round trip), so a family of four gets roughly double that on each round trip.

Does the Amex Aeroplan have travel insurance?

Yes, but less than the Reserve. Amex lists flight delay insurance of up to $500 (combined maximum with baggage delay insurance), lost or stolen baggage cover of up to $500 per trip for all insured persons combined, hotel burglary cover of up to $500, rental car cover for cars with an MSRP up to $85,000, on rentals of 48 days or less and travel accident insurance of up to $500,000. The page lists no out-of-province emergency medical or trip cancellation insurance, so separate medical cover is worth pricing before a trip.

Does Amex Aeroplan stack with Air Canada elite status?

The card helps you reach status but doesn't grant it. Amex gives the Basic Cardmember 1,000 Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) for every $20,000 in eligible net purchases, up to 25,000 SQC. Per Amex's terms, Status Qualifying Credits count only toward Aeroplan Elite Status qualification and cannot be redeemed for Aeroplan rewards. They are separate from the Aeroplan points the card earns on purchases. Elite status itself still depends on Aeroplan's qualification rules.

Foreign transaction fees on Amex Aeroplan?

Amex's Aeroplan Card product page, checked October 11, 2026, does not state what the card charges on foreign-currency purchases, so the rate has to be confirmed in the card's own disclosure documents before a trip. For comparison, Scotiabank says the foreign transaction fee on its Passport Visa Infinite is none — only the exchange rate applies (Scotiabank calls 2.5% the typical fee it replaces); that card costs $150 a year for the primary card ($0 for the first additional card, $50 for each one after that).

Is the Amex Aeroplan Card a credit card or a charge card?

It is a charge card with no preset spending limit; the balance must be paid in full each month. That means there is no revolving balance by design: Amex charges 30% a year on balances not paid in full. The Aeroplan Reserve, by contrast, is a credit card with interest of 21.99% on purchases and 21.99% on advances. Amex's own estimate of a point's value is $0.02 a point or more on flights (Amex's figure, based on most Aeroplan Cardmembers' flight redemptions from November 8, 2020 to September 1, 2025), so at 2 points per dollar the rewards are a few cents on the dollar, far below either interest rate.

Editorial pick

American Express Aeroplan Card

More reviews like this

Review

Amex Aeroplan Reserve Review 2026: $599 Worth It?

Amex Aeroplan Reserve review: $599 a year ($799 from Jan 12, 2027), up to 85,000 welcome points and Maple Leaf Lounge access. See the fee math.

Review

Amex Cobalt Review 2026: Earn Rates, Bonus and Lounge Access

Amex Cobalt review: 5X points on restaurants, groceries and delivery up to $2,500 a month for $15.99 a month, but no airport lounge access. See the math.

Review

Amex Gold Rewards Card Review 2026: Up to 60K MR Points

Amex Gold Rewards review: $250 a year, up to 60,000 MR points, 2X on travel, gas, grocery and drugstores, a $100 travel credit and lounge visits.

Review

Amex Platinum Card Canada Review 2026: $799 Worth It?

Amex Platinum Canada review: $799 annual fee, up to 100,000 welcome points, a $200 travel credit, a $200 dining credit and the 2027 lounge change. See the fee math.