Skip to main content
YieldMaple
Open menu

Guides Guide

What is a bank draft, and how is it different from a certified cheque?

By Alex Francisco Updated Figures checked 10 min read

What is a bank draft, and how is it different from a certified cheque?

A bank draft is a payment item that a bank draws against its own account, after taking the money from the buyer's account, so the person being paid relies on the bank and not on a personal chequing balance. A certified cheque is a personal cheque that the payer's own bank has stamped as certified. RBC lists $9.95 per draft, and BMO certifies a cheque for $20 when the person who wrote the cheque asks, $30 when someone else asks.

  • Payments Canada defines a bank draft as a payment item drawn by a bank against its own account. The buyer pays the bank first, and the bank issues the draft to the named payee.
  • A certified cheque starts as a personal cheque. It becomes certified when the bank it is drawn on writes or stamps the word accepted or certified on its face.
  • Draft fees at the five big banks sit close together. RBC lists $9.95 per draft. TD lists $9.95 per draft; no fee on the TD All-Inclusive Banking Plan. BMO lists $9.95 per money order or draft. Scotiabank lists $9.95 per draft in Canadian or US dollars. CIBC lists $9.95 per bank draft or money order.
  • Certifying a cheque costs more where a fee is published: TD lists $10 when the account holder asks, $15 when someone else asks; BMO lists $20 when the person who wrote the cheque asks, $30 when someone else asks; Scotiabank lists $15 for the account holder or another Scotiabank client, $25 for someone who is not a Scotiabank client.
  • A draft or certified cheque can still be held when it is deposited. BMO, Scotiabank and CIBC each say their cheque hold policies cover certified cheques and bank drafts.
  • Both items can be forged. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre warns about payments for more than the asking price, where the buyer asks for the excess to be wired back.

— YieldMaple, figures checked against official sources on October 8, 2026. Sources

A bank draft and a certified cheque do the same job: they let a seller, landlord or law office accept a large paper payment without relying on the balance in the payer’s chequing account. The difference is whose account the paper is written on. The table below sets the two side by side, using the definitions from Payments Canada, the body that runs Canada’s cheque clearing system.

Bank draft vs certified cheque

How to read this table: the first rows use Payments Canada's own definitions. Fees are not in this table because each bank sets its own; they are listed by bank further down.

FeatureBank draftCertified cheque
What it is (Payments Canada glossary)A payment item drawn by a bank against its own accountA cheque on whose face the financial institution it is drawn on has written or stamped "accepted" or "certified"
Whose account it is written onThe bank's own accountThe payer's own account; a cheque instructs the payer's institution to give money from that account
Who prepares the paperThe bankThe payer writes the cheque; the payer's institution then marks it certified
Stale-datingNot stated in the Payments Canada cheque guide; ask the issuing bankCheques are considered stale-dated after six months, unless certified
Hold when depositedSet by the receiving institution's hold policy; the FCAC describes a bank draft as a secured method of paymentSet by the receiving institution's hold policy
Can it be forged?Yes. Any paper item can be counterfeit; report suspicious activity to the financial institution immediatelyYes. Any paper item can be counterfeit; report suspicious activity to the financial institution immediately

Source: Glossary — Bank draft (Payments Canada); Glossary — Certified item (Payments Canada); Glossary — Cheque (Payments Canada); Glossary — Money order (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what a cheque is (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — stale-dated cheques (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what institutions verify (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — fraudulent cheques (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — why institutions hold cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — money released before a cheque clears (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — paying back a cheque that does not go through (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — bank draft as a secured method of payment (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — hold policy disclosure (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Merchandise frauds — vendor fraud (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — overpayment (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — what fraudsters pay with (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — quick tips (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — counterfeit cheque (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — responsibility for withdrawn funds (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — report online (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — contact local police (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre). In effect from January 1, 2026; checked October 8, 2026.

This page is education, not financial or legal advice. Fees and hold rules are set by each financial institution, so check the fee list and hold policy for your own account before ordering or accepting either item.

What is a bank draft?

A bank draft is a payment item drawn by a bank against its own account. That is the full definition in the Payments Canada glossary, and the important words are “its own account”. The buyer pays the bank first. The bank then issues a draft, made out to a named payee, that is paid from the bank’s funds and not from the buyer’s chequing account.

RBC’s description of its own product shows how that works at the counter: the money is taken from the buyer's RBC account right away in exchange for the draft, which guarantees the funds for the recipient. Because the money has already left the buyer’s account, the payee is no longer exposed to the usual reason a personal cheque fails, which the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) lists as non-sufficient funds in the cheque writer’s account. The FCAC itself refers to a bank draft as “a secured method of payment”.

A bank draft is not the same as cash, though. It is still a paper item that has to be deposited and cleared, and it can be forged. Both points are covered below.

What is a certified cheque?

A certified cheque starts life as an ordinary personal cheque, written by the payer on the payer’s own chequing account. Payments Canada explains that a cheque instructs the payer’s financial institution to give money from that account to whoever deposits it. The cheque becomes a certified item when the institution it is drawn on writes or stamps “accepted” or “certified”, or words to that effect, on its face.

That stamp is the whole point. It tells the payee that the bank has seen the cheque and accepted it, so the bank, and not just the payer, stands behind the payment. Certification also changes how long the cheque stays current: Payments Canada says cheques are considered stale-dated after six months, unless certified.

To have a cheque certified, the payer needs a cheque from their own account. Anyone who has never ordered a chequebook can see what the numbers along the bottom mean in the guide to void cheques and the transit number guide.

Payments Canada’s glossary places the two items next to the other paper payments a bank handles:

Cheque, certified cheque, bank draft and money order: Payments Canada definitions

How to read this table: the definitions are quoted from the Payments Canada glossary. 'Member' means a financial institution that is a member of Payments Canada.

ItemDefinitionDrawn on
ChequeA Bill of Exchange drawn on a bank, payable on demandThe payer's account
Certified item (certified cheque)An item on the face of which the drawee financial institution has written or stamped the words "accepted" or "certified" or any other word or words to that effectThe payer's account
Bank draftA payment item drawn by a bank against its own accountThe bank's own account
Money orderA payment item issued by a member and drawn on itself for the purpose of ordering a payment to be made to a payeeThe issuing member institution

Source: Glossary — Bank draft (Payments Canada); Glossary — Certified item (Payments Canada); Glossary — Cheque (Payments Canada); Glossary — Money order (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what a cheque is (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — stale-dated cheques (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what institutions verify (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — fraudulent cheques (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — why institutions hold cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — money released before a cheque clears (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — paying back a cheque that does not go through (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — bank draft as a secured method of payment (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — hold policy disclosure (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Merchandise frauds — vendor fraud (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — overpayment (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — what fraudsters pay with (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — quick tips (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — counterfeit cheque (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — responsibility for withdrawn funds (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — report online (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — contact local police (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre). In effect from January 1, 2026; checked October 8, 2026.

Bank draft vs certified cheque: who guarantees each one?

With a bank draft, the bank is the one paying. The draft is drawn on the bank’s own account, so the payee’s claim is against the bank that issued it.

With a certified cheque, the payer is still the one who wrote the cheque, but the payer’s bank has marked it accepted. The payee’s comfort comes from that bank’s stamp.

In day-to-day use the two are treated alike, and the banks’ own documents show it. Scotiabank says its hold policy counts certified cheques and bank drafts as cheques. CIBC says its hold policy counts certified cheques, bank drafts and money orders as cheques. For someone choosing between them, the practical differences are these:

  • Availability. All five big banks publish a fee for a bank draft. TD, BMO and Scotiabank also publish a fee for certifying a cheque; the RBC and CIBC fee documents read for this guide do not.
  • Cost. Where both fees are published, the draft costs less.
  • What the payer needs. A draft needs only an account with money in it. A certified cheque also needs a personal cheque.
  • What the payee asked for. If the payee names one of the two, that settles it.

How much does a bank draft or certified cheque cost at the big banks?

Each bank sets its own fee. The figures below come from each bank’s own fee page or fee document, read on October 8, 2026. Each row links to the page the figure came from.

Bank draft fees at Canadian banks
Bank draft fees at Canadian banks
Item Current figure Source
RBC Royal Bank fee for a bank draft $9.95 per draft rbcroyalbank.com Verified October 8, 2026
TD fee for a bank draft (chequing accounts) $9.95 per draft; no fee on the TD All-Inclusive Banking Plan td.com Verified October 8, 2026
BMO fee for a money order or draft $9.95 per money order or draft bmo.com Verified October 8, 2026
Scotiabank fee to purchase a bank draft $9.95 per draft in Canadian or US dollars scotiabank.com Verified October 8, 2026
CIBC fee for a bank draft or money order $9.95 per bank draft or money order cibc.com Verified October 8, 2026
Tangerine Canadian draft fee $10 (courier included) tangerine.ca Verified October 7, 2026

A few details sit behind those numbers:

  • RBC notes that some banking packages include a number of free bank drafts per year, and lists the currencies available for drafts as CAD, GBP and EUR.
  • TD shows the fee by chequing account: $9.95 per draft; no fee on the TD All-Inclusive Banking Plan.
  • Scotiabank offers unlimited Canadian and U.S. dollar drafts at no charge on its top-tier chequing package.
  • CIBC offers free bank drafts and money orders for clients aged 65 and older through CIBC Smart for Seniors (benefits vary by account, and a transaction fee may apply).
  • Tangerine has no branches, so its listed fee covers delivery: $10 (courier included).

Fees for certifying a cheque are published by fewer banks:

Fees to certify a cheque, where a bank publishes one
Fees to certify a cheque, where a bank publishes one
Item Current figure Source
TD fee to certify a cheque $10 when the account holder asks, $15 when someone else asks td.com Verified October 8, 2026
BMO fee to certify a cheque $20 when the person who wrote the cheque asks, $30 when someone else asks bmo.com Verified October 8, 2026
Scotiabank fee to certify a cheque $15 for the account holder or another Scotiabank client, $25 for someone who is not a Scotiabank client scotiabank.com Verified October 8, 2026

The RBC and CIBC fee documents read for this guide list a bank draft fee and no certification fee. That is not proof the service is unavailable, so a customer of one of those two banks who has been asked for a certified cheque should ask a branch, and can ask the payee whether a bank draft is acceptable instead. A side-by-side look at monthly account fees is in the comparison of banks in Canada.

How do you get a bank draft or a certified cheque?

The steps are short, and they happen at the bank where the payer holds an account.

For a bank draft:

  1. Get the payee’s exact legal name and the exact amount from the person or office being paid. Both are printed on the draft.
  2. Make sure the account holds the amount plus the fee. The bank takes the money when it issues the draft.
  3. Order the draft from the bank. RBC, for example, issues them at any RBC Royal Bank branch in Canada. Online banks handle it differently; Tangerine’s fee is $10 (courier included).
  4. Keep the receipt or customer copy until the payee confirms the draft has been deposited.

For a certified cheque:

  1. Write a personal cheque to the payee for the exact amount.
  2. Take it to a branch of the bank the cheque is drawn on and ask for it to be certified. The bank marks the face of the cheque and charges its fee: $10 when the account holder asks, $15 when someone else asks at TD, $20 when the person who wrote the cheque asks, $30 when someone else asks at BMO, and $15 for the account holder or another Scotiabank client, $25 for someone who is not a Scotiabank client at Scotiabank.
  3. Hand the certified cheque to the payee.

Mistakes are slow to fix with either item. A draft made out to the wrong name has to go back to the issuing bank, and BMO’s fee document warns that extra fees may apply, at BMO or at other financial institutions, to refund or replace a lost or stolen money order or draft.

Is there a hold on a bank draft or certified cheque?

There can be, and this surprises many payees. The FCAC’s rules cap how long a federally regulated financial institution, such as a bank, can hold money deposited by cheque. The caps depend on the amount and how the cheque was deposited:

Maximum cheque hold periods at federally regulated financial institutions

How to read this table: these are the FCAC's maximums for Canadian-dollar cheques drawn on a branch in Canada. They may not apply to an account open for less than 90 days, or to a deposit the institution has reasonable grounds to suspect is fraudulent. Credit unions and caisses populaires set their own policies.

Cheque amountDeposited in person at a branchDeposited another way (ATM, mobile)Access to the first $100
$1,500 or less4 business days after the day of the deposit5 business days after the day of the depositImmediately in person; the next business day by ATM or mobile deposit
More than $1,5007 business days after the day of the deposit8 business days after the day of the depositImmediately in person; the next business day by ATM or mobile deposit
Cheque drawn on a bank outside CanadaNot covered by the maximums; institutions often hold foreign cheques for 30 daysNot covered by the maximums; institutions often hold foreign cheques for 30 daysNot stated by the FCAC; ask the institution

Source: Paying with your mobile phone — text message or email money transfer (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — e-Transfer fees and limits (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — Autodeposit (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — protecting yourself when using electronic transfers (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — receiving an electronic transfer (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Online banking — transfers between accounts (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Online banking — sharing banking details (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — Table 1, maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — Table 1, cheques over $1,500 (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — access to the first $100 (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — first $100 timing (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — foreign cheques and credit unions (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — provincially regulated institutions (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — consumer guide (Payments Canada); Wire payment — how a wire travels (Payments Canada); Wire payment — fees and cut-off times (Payments Canada); Wire payment — mistakes (Payments Canada); Wire payment — money transfer businesses not covered (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — consumer guide, funds transfer PADs (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — dishonoured PADs (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — no agreement existed (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — confirmation and cancellation (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — 10-day confirmation (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — electronic streams and settlement (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — cheque clearing timing (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — electronic payment streams (Payments Canada); High-value payment system — Lynx (Payments Canada); Real-Time Rail payment system (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — scope of the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — complaints and OBSI (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — questions go to your institution (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — availability and who to call (Payments Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — sending safely and scams (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — send only to people you know (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — whether an institution offers wires (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — funds transfer PAD recourse stated in the agreement (Payments Canada); High-value payment system — Lynx operating days (Payments Canada); Real-Time Rail payment system — any day, any time (Payments Canada); System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — operating days; System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — January to September; System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — October to December. In effect from January 1, 2026; checked September 30, 2026.

The FCAC page is written for cheques and does not say separately how a draft or a certified cheque is treated. The banks’ own policies fill that gap, and they lean toward treating all three alike:

  • BMO says it may apply its cheque hold periods to certified cheques, money orders and drafts.
  • Scotiabank says its hold policy counts certified cheques and bank drafts as cheques.
  • CIBC says its hold policy counts certified cheques, bank drafts and money orders as cheques.
  • Tangerine’s usual deposit hold is up to 5 business days.

Whether a hold is actually placed is the receiving bank’s decision. A bank must give customers a written copy of its cheque hold policy when an account is opened, so the answer for a specific account is in that document. A hold also ending does not make the money final: CIBC’s policy says even after the hold period expires, there is no guarantee that a cheque will not be returned unpaid. The FCAC adds that when an institution releases money before an item clears it is extending credit, and the customer may have to pay the amount back if the item does not go through.

When does a seller or lawyer ask for a bank draft or a certified cheque?

A payee asks for one of these when the amount is too large to risk on a personal cheque and the payee wants paper in hand at the moment of the exchange. Typical examples are a private vehicle sale, a rental deposit, and the money a buyer brings to a law office before a home purchase closes.

No official source read for this guide says which of the two a seller or a law office must accept. The payee sets the terms, so the useful questions to ask before going to the bank are:

  • Which item is accepted: a bank draft, a certified cheque, or either?
  • What exact name should it be made out to? A law office will give the exact wording, which is often the name of its trust account.
  • What is the exact amount, and by what date and time is it needed?
  • Is a wire payment accepted instead?

For a home purchase, the amount is usually the down payment plus closing costs, less any deposit already paid. The mortgage calculator and the land transfer tax calculator help estimate those figures ahead of time; the final number comes from the lawyer or notary. For a vehicle, the car loan calculator shows how the cash portion and the financed portion fit together.

Bank draft and certified cheque fraud: what to check

A draft or a certified cheque removes the risk that the payer’s account is empty. It does not remove the risk that the paper itself is fake. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC) describes these patterns, which apply to anyone accepting a cheque-type payment from a stranger:

Cheque fraud patterns described by the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre

How to read this table: the CAFC's pages describe fraudulent and counterfeit cheques in general. They do not single out bank drafts, but a forged draft or forged certification stamp is used the same way.

PatternHow it worksSource
OverpaymentA payment arrives for more than the asking price, and the buyer asks for the excess to be wired back immediately. After the money is sent, the payment turns out to be fraudulent.Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, merchandise frauds
Out-of-town buyerThe buyer claims to be located out of town and offers to buy the item unseen, then uses various tactics to avoid paying.Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, merchandise frauds
Counterfeit cheque job offerA fraudster sends a counterfeit cheque with a story about needing help to cash it, and asks for some of the funds to be returned.Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, job frauds
Deposit and forwardThe person is told to deposit a cheque, withdraw some of the funds and send them on. The cheque is counterfeit and the person is responsible for any funds withdrawn.Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, job frauds

Source: Glossary — Bank draft (Payments Canada); Glossary — Certified item (Payments Canada); Glossary — Cheque (Payments Canada); Glossary — Money order (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what a cheque is (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — stale-dated cheques (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what institutions verify (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — fraudulent cheques (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — why institutions hold cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — money released before a cheque clears (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — paying back a cheque that does not go through (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — bank draft as a secured method of payment (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — hold policy disclosure (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Merchandise frauds — vendor fraud (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — overpayment (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — what fraudsters pay with (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — quick tips (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — counterfeit cheque (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — responsibility for withdrawn funds (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — report online (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — contact local police (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre). In effect from January 1, 2026; checked October 8, 2026.

The common thread is being asked to send money back out of a deposit. The CAFC’s overpayment warning says the fraudster asks the seller to deposit the funds and wire the excess back immediately, and its job-fraud page says the person who deposited a counterfeit cheque is responsible for any funds withdrawn. BMO’s account agreement makes the same point from the bank’s side: the paying bank can return a cheque at any time, even after a hold is removed, including because it is counterfeit, forged, altered or stolen.

Cautions that follow from those sources, plus one practical step:

  • Treat any payment for more than the agreed price as a warning sign, and do not send “change” back.
  • Be wary of a buyer who claims to be out of town and offers to buy without seeing the item. The CAFC lists both as signs of vendor fraud.
  • Do not hand over the goods, or the keys, only because a deposit shows in the account. A hold ending is not the same as the item being final.
  • Payments Canada notes that what a bank verifies on a deposited item is the bank’s own business decision. A payee with doubts can ask the issuing bank to confirm a draft, using a phone number found independently and not one printed on the item.
  • Meeting the buyer at a branch of the issuing bank, so the draft is issued in front of the seller, removes the question of whether the paper is real.
Where to report a suspected fake draft or cheque

How to read this table: the first row is from Payments Canada's cheque guide; the other two are from the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre's reporting page.

Who to contactWhat the official source says
Financial institutionReport any suspicious activity to the financial institution immediately
Local policeVictims of fraud are asked to contact local police as soon as possible
Canadian Anti-Fraud CentreReport online at reportcyberandfraud.canada.ca, as a victim or a witness

Source: Glossary — Bank draft (Payments Canada); Glossary — Certified item (Payments Canada); Glossary — Cheque (Payments Canada); Glossary — Money order (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what a cheque is (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — stale-dated cheques (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — what institutions verify (Payments Canada); Paying by cheque — fraudulent cheques (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — why institutions hold cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — money released before a cheque clears (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — paying back a cheque that does not go through (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — bank draft as a secured method of payment (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — hold policy disclosure (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Merchandise frauds — vendor fraud (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — overpayment (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — what fraudsters pay with (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Merchandise frauds — quick tips (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — counterfeit cheque (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Job frauds — responsibility for withdrawn funds (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — report online (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre); Report fraud and cybercrime — contact local police (Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre). In effect from January 1, 2026; checked October 8, 2026.

What are the alternatives to a bank draft?

Electronic payments avoid paper holds, and the FCAC suggests having deposits made electronically where possible because the money may be available right away. The two main options, both covered in the guide to transferring money between banks, are:

  • Wire payment. A wire travels through Lynx, Canada’s high-value payment system. Payments Canada describes it as final and irrevocable once the funds are in the recipient’s account, which is the same certainty a payee wants from a draft. Each institution sets its own fees and cut-off times: Wealthsimple Chequing, for example, charges $15 per outgoing domestic wire. Not every bank offers them (Tangerine wire transfers: not offered — Tangerine does not send or receive wire transfers).
  • Interac e-Transfer. Quick and familiar, but each institution sets its own limits, and those limits are often below the size of a vehicle or home payment. Published examples: Wealthsimple Chequing lists up to $50,000 a day for eligible clients; EQ Bank lists $5,000 per 24 hours, $20,000 a week and $50,000 a month going out; up to $25,000 per transfer coming in; KOHO caps outgoing transfers at $5,000 a day. The FCAC notes that an e-Transfer can’t be cancelled once it has been deposited into the recipient’s account.
Ways to pay without a draft: official rules for each method

How to read this table: rules are from the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada and Payments Canada. Dollar limits and fees are set by each financial institution.

MethodSuitsLimits and feesCan it be undone?
Interac e-TransferPaying another person or moving smaller amounts to your own account at another institutionSet by each financial institution; a fee may apply to sendCan't be cancelled once it has been deposited into the recipient's account
Linked-account transfer (EFT / funds transfer pre-authorized debit)Moving larger amounts between your own accounts at two institutionsSet by each financial institutionCan be dishonoured (for example for non-sufficient funds or a closed account) no later than the next business day; a claim for reimbursement is possible within 90 days if no PAD agreement existed
Wire payment (Lynx)Large or time-sensitive paymentsEach financial institution sets its own fees and its own cut-off timesFinal and irrevocable once the funds are in the recipient's account
Cheque or mobile cheque depositPayments where the payer only issues chequesA federally regulated institution may hold the money for 4 to 8 business days, depending on amount and deposit methodA cheque can be dishonoured, for example for non-sufficient funds, and the deposited amount taken back

Source: Paying with your mobile phone — text message or email money transfer (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — e-Transfer fees and limits (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — Autodeposit (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — protecting yourself when using electronic transfers (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — receiving an electronic transfer (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Online banking — transfers between accounts (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Online banking — sharing banking details (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — maximum cheque hold period (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — Table 1, maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — Table 1, cheques over $1,500 (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — access to the first $100 (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — first $100 timing (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — exceptions to the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — foreign cheques and credit unions (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — provincially regulated institutions (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — electronic deposits instead of cheques (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — consumer guide (Payments Canada); Wire payment — how a wire travels (Payments Canada); Wire payment — fees and cut-off times (Payments Canada); Wire payment — mistakes (Payments Canada); Wire payment — money transfer businesses not covered (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — consumer guide, funds transfer PADs (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — dishonoured PADs (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — no agreement existed (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — confirmation and cancellation (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — 10-day confirmation (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — electronic streams and settlement (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — cheque clearing timing (Payments Canada); Retail batch payment system — electronic payment streams (Payments Canada); High-value payment system — Lynx (Payments Canada); Real-Time Rail payment system (Payments Canada); Cashing a cheque — scope of the maximum hold periods (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Cashing a cheque — complaints and OBSI (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — questions go to your institution (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — availability and who to call (Payments Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — sending safely and scams (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Paying with your mobile phone — send only to people you know (Financial Consumer Agency of Canada); Wire payment — whether an institution offers wires (Payments Canada); Pre-authorized debit — funds transfer PAD recourse stated in the agreement (Payments Canada); High-value payment system — Lynx operating days (Payments Canada); Real-Time Rail payment system — any day, any time (Payments Canada); System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — operating days; System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — January to September; System closure schedule 2026 (Payments Canada) — October to December. In effect from January 1, 2026; checked September 30, 2026.

Finality cuts both ways. A wire or a deposited e-Transfer can’t be pulled back, so the payee’s details need to be confirmed directly with the payee, by phone, before anything is sent.

Common mistakes with bank drafts and certified cheques

  • Treating a draft as cash. It is a paper item that can be held on deposit and, if forged, returned.
  • Getting the payee name wrong. The name is printed on the draft, and fixing it means going back to the issuing bank.
  • Leaving it to the last day. Branch hours, and delivery time at online banks, decide when the draft is in hand.
  • Assuming every bank certifies cheques. Three of the five big banks publish a certification fee; all five publish a draft fee.
  • Refunding an overpayment. This is the pattern the CAFC warns about by name.
  • Throwing away the receipt. It is the record needed if the draft is lost or stolen.

Paper payments are one part of moving money in Canada. The guide to transferring money between banks compares e-Transfer, linked-account transfers and wires in detail, and the void cheque guide explains the account numbers a wire or direct deposit needs. Readers choosing where to bank can start with the comparison of banks in Canada, which sets out monthly fees and what each account includes.

Frequently asked questions

What is a bank draft?

A bank draft is a paper payment that a bank writes on its own account. Payments Canada's glossary defines it as a payment item drawn by a bank against its own account. The buyer gives the bank the money, plus a fee, and the bank issues a draft made out to the person or business being paid. RBC describes it this way: the money is taken from the buyer's RBC account right away in exchange for the draft, which guarantees the funds for the recipient.

What is the difference between a bank draft and a certified cheque?

The difference is whose account the paper is written on. A bank draft is drawn by the bank against the bank's own account. A certified cheque is the payer's personal cheque, drawn on the payer's account, that the payer's bank has stamped accepted or certified. Both tell the payee that a bank, and not only the payer, stands behind the payment. Drafts are the more widely listed product on big-bank fee pages.

How much does a bank draft cost in Canada?

Each bank sets its own fee. On the fee pages read on October 8, 2026, RBC lists $9.95 per draft; TD lists $9.95 per draft; no fee on the TD All-Inclusive Banking Plan; BMO lists $9.95 per money order or draft; Scotiabank lists $9.95 per draft in Canadian or US dollars; and CIBC lists $9.95 per bank draft or money order. Tangerine, which has no branches, lists $10 (courier included). Some premium accounts include drafts in the monthly fee, so the account's own fee list is the place to confirm.

How much does a certified cheque cost?

Three of the five big banks publish this fee. TD lists $10 when the account holder asks, $15 when someone else asks. BMO lists $20 when the person who wrote the cheque asks, $30 when someone else asks. Scotiabank lists $15 for the account holder or another Scotiabank client, $25 for someone who is not a Scotiabank client. The RBC and CIBC fee documents read for this guide list a bank draft fee but no fee for certifying a cheque, so customers of those two banks need to ask a branch whether certification is offered. Where both fees are published, the draft is the cheaper of the two.

How do you get a bank draft?

A bank draft is ordered from the bank where the buyer has an account. RBC, for example, issues drafts at any RBC Royal Bank branch in Canada. The bank needs the exact name of the payee and the amount, takes the money and the fee from the account, and hands over the draft. Tangerine has no branches and lists a draft fee of $10 (courier included). Anyone on a deadline should ask the bank how long its process takes.

Is a bank draft safer than a certified cheque?

Neither is described by an official source as safer. With both, a bank stands behind the payment, which removes the risk of a personal cheque bouncing for non-sufficient funds. The remaining risk is the same for both: a forged or altered item. BMO's account agreement says the paying bank can return a cheque at any time, even after a hold is removed, including because it is counterfeit, forged, altered or stolen. A payee who has doubts can confirm an item with the issuing bank, using a phone number found independently.

Is there a hold on a bank draft?

There can be. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada's maximum hold periods are written for cheques, 4 to 8 business days depending on the amount and how it was deposited. Banks apply their own policies to drafts: BMO says it may apply its cheque hold periods to certified cheques, money orders and drafts; Scotiabank says its hold policy counts certified cheques and bank drafts as cheques; and CIBC says its hold policy counts certified cheques, bank drafts and money orders as cheques. A payee who needs the money right away should ask the receiving bank before accepting a draft.

Does a bank draft or certified cheque expire?

Payments Canada says cheques are considered stale-dated after six months, unless certified, and that a stale-dated cheque is old but not necessarily invalid: a financial institution may still honour it but has no obligation to. Its cheque guide does not give a stale date for bank drafts, so the issuing bank is the place to ask about an old draft. The practical approach is to deposit either item soon after receiving it.

What happens if a bank draft is lost or stolen?

Contact the bank that issued it right away. A draft is not cancelled as simply as a personal cheque, because the bank has already taken the money and made the draft payable to someone else. BMO's fee document notes that extra fees may apply, at BMO or at other financial institutions, to refund or replace a lost or stolen money order or draft. Each bank has its own replacement process and conditions, so keep the receipt or copy that comes with the draft until the payee confirms it has been deposited.

Can a bank draft be fake?

Yes. A draft or certified cheque is paper, and paper can be counterfeit. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre describes sellers receiving a payment for more than the asking price, with a request to wire the excess back immediately; after the money is sent, the payment turns out to be fraudulent. Payments Canada says to report suspicious activity to the financial institution immediately. Fraud can also be reported online at reportcyberandfraud.canada.ca.

Is a wire transfer or e-Transfer better than a bank draft?

It depends on the amount and what the payee accepts. A wire payment through Lynx is described by Payments Canada as final and irrevocable once it is in the recipient's account. An Interac e-Transfer is quick but capped by each institution: Wealthsimple Chequing lists up to $50,000 a day for eligible clients, and KOHO caps outgoing transfers at $5,000 a day. A draft suits payees who want paper in hand at the moment of the exchange.

What is the difference between a bank draft and a money order?

Payments Canada defines a money order as a payment item issued by a member institution and drawn on itself to order a payment to a payee, which is close to its definition of a bank draft. Banks often sell the two side by side: BMO and CIBC each list one fee for bank drafts and money orders, $9.95 per money order or draft at BMO and $9.95 per bank draft or money order at CIBC. The bank can say which one it issues for a given amount.

Rules, rates and sources

Last verified
Next scheduled check
Rule or tableIn effect fromVerified
Bank drafts and certified cheques — official definitions, stale-dating, hold rules and fraud cautions January 1, 2026 October 8, 2026
Moving money between Canadian bank accounts — e-Transfer, EFT/pre-authorized debit, wire (Lynx) and cheque rules, holds and system closure days January 1, 2026 September 30, 2026

Official sources

How we check figures: our methodology and editorial policy.

General information for education, not financial, tax, legal or immigration advice. Rules change — confirm anything you act on with the official source or a licensed professional (for immigration, a lawyer or a licensed consultant registered with the College of Immigration and Citizenship Consultants).