Skip to main content
YieldMaple
Open menu

Best of Insurance

Critical Illness Insurance in Canada: How It Works and 9 Insurers Compared (2026)

By Alex Francisco Updated Figures checked 13 min read

What is critical illness insurance in Canada and how does it work?

Critical illness insurance in Canada pays a one-time lump sum if you are diagnosed with a condition your policy covers and you outlive the survival period, which Sun Life says is usually 30 days. Of nine insurers' pages checked on October 11, 2026, RBC Insurance covers 26 serious illnesses and conditions and PolicyMe lists 44 conditions; none publishes a premium.

  • Critical illness insurance pays a one-time lump sum after the diagnosis of a covered condition; Sun Life says the survival period in Canada is usually 30 days.
  • Condition counts differ widely by plan on the nine pages checked: Manulife's Lifecheque Basic covers 5 critical illnesses, RBC Insurance 26 serious illnesses and conditions, and PolicyMe lists 27 covered critical illnesses and 17 early-stage conditions.
  • Sun Life publishes the highest adult coverage range of the nine, $25,000 to $4 million; RBC Insurance publishes $25,000 to $3,000,000 and iA Financial Group $10,000 to $3,000,000.
  • Cancer usually carries its own waiting rule: Co-operators states no coverage for cancer or benign brain tumours during the first 90 days after issue or reinstatement.
  • Return of premium is an optional extra at most insurers; RBC Insurance's add-on returns up to 100% of paid premiums back if you cancel (optional add-on).
  • If a member insurer fails, Assuris protects a critical illness benefit up to $250,000 or 90% of your benefit amount, whichever is higher.

— YieldMaple, figures checked against official sources on October 11, 2026. Sources

How we chose: Insurers that sell individual critical illness insurance in Canada and describe it on a public product page: large life insurers, bank-owned insurers, an advisor-only insurer and an online distributor. Every feature comes from each insurer's own critical illness pages, checked on the verification date shown on this page. Where a page does not state a fact, the table says so instead of filling the gap. The order is not a ranking on price or quality, and no insurer paid to be included. No premiums appear because none of these insurers publishes one on its page; a quote depends on age, sex, smoking status, health and the plan chosen.

  1. #1 · Best for a wide published coverage range through an advisor, or a small instant-approval plan online

    Sun Life — Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada

    • Sun Critical Illness Insurance: separate lists of full-payout, partial-payout and childhood illnesses
    • Fixed-term, to-age and lifetime plans for adults, plus child plans
    • Express Critical Illness Insurance: instant online approval with no medical exam or blood work, for a short list of illnesses
    • Optional return of premium on death, and on cancellation or expiry, at extra cost

    Sun Life official site

  2. #2 · Best for reading the survival, qualifying and symptom-free rules before applying

    RBC Insurance — RBC Insurance

    • An early assistance benefit that does not reduce the main benefit
    • Renewable terms, or level premiums to a set age
    • Publishes plain-language answers on the survival period, the qualifying period and the cancer symptom-free period
    • Optional Return of Premium add-ons on cancellation, expiry or death

    RBC Insurance official site

  3. #3 · Best for a choice of plans, from a short-list basic plan to a broader advisor-sold plan

    Manulife — The Manufacturers Life Insurance Company

    • Lifecheque: the broadest list of the plans, with a partial benefit for early intervention conditions, sold through advisors
    • Lifecheque Basic and CoverMe: a short list of covered illnesses and a money-back guarantee period
    • CoverMe critical illness insurance can be quoted and bought online
    • Lifecheque lists an option to convert permanent coverage to a long term care product

    Manulife official site

  4. #4 · Best for a cancer-only plan with no medical exam, alongside full critical illness plans

    iA Financial Group — Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc.

    • Transition comes in a longer-list and a shorter-list version, each with childhood illnesses
    • Fixed terms, a to-age term or coverage for life; eligibility starts at birth
    • Cancer Guard: simplified issue cancer coverage with no medical exams or blood tests
    • Partial benefit for early-detected illnesses can be paid more than once without ending the policy

    iA Financial Group official site

  5. #5 · Best for adding critical illness cover as a rider on a BMO life policy

    BMO Insurance — BMO Life Assurance Company

    • Living Benefit plans, with the full list of covered conditions linked from the page
    • Fixed-term plans and plans that run to a set age
    • Standalone plan, or a rider on BMO term, whole life and universal life plans
    • Optional Return of Premium on Death; Return of Premium on Surrender or Expiry on the to-age plans

    BMO Insurance official site

  6. #6 · Best for an early partial payment that leaves the full benefit intact, and coverage for children

    Co-operators — Co-operators Life Insurance Company

    • Critical Assist for adults, with level premiums and renewable options
    • Early Assist partial payment does not reduce the full coverage amount
    • Head Start is a separate plan for children
    • Premium Payback on Surrender or Expiry rider; exclusion periods for cancer and Parkinson's disease are stated on the page

    Co-operators official site

  7. #7 · Best for an optional return-of-premium benefit, bought through an advisor

    Canada Life — The Canada Life Assurance Company

    • Optional return-of-premium benefit; choosing to take the money back ends the policy
    • The page directs readers to an advisor; it does not state a number of covered conditions or a coverage range
    • States that the tax treatment of return-of-premium benefits has no formal ruling from the CRA or Revenu Québec

    Canada Life official site

  8. #8 · Best for bundling critical illness with life insurance as a rider

    ivari — ivari

    • Critical Illness Protection in a shorter-list and a longer-list version; the page refers buyers to an advisor
    • Survival period stated on the product page
    • Available as a rider on an ivari life policy or on its own; return of premium on death benefit

    ivari official site

  9. #9 · Best for applying online, with early-stage conditions on the published list

    PolicyMe — PolicyMe Corp. (policies issued by Canadian Premier Life Insurance Company, operating as Securian Canada)

    • Covered critical illnesses plus a separate list of early-stage conditions
    • Fixed term lengths only
    • Online application; one application can cover both partners
    • Survival period stated on the product page

    PolicyMe official site

Critical illness insurance in Canada is sold by life and health insurers as a “living benefit”: it pays the insured person, not a beneficiary, and it pays on diagnosis, not on death. This guide explains how the payout, the survival period and the return of premium riders work, then compares nine insurers on the facts each one publishes. Definitions come from the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC); insurer features come from each insurer’s own critical illness pages, checked October 11, 2026. This page is general education, not insurance, tax or financial advice, and the policy contract always decides what a claim pays.

What is critical illness insurance and how does it work?

Critical illness insurance pays a one-time lump sum if you are diagnosed with an illness your policy covers, usually after you outlive a short survival period. FCAC’s description is the plainest one available.

Critical illness insurance in Canada, as FCAC describes it

How to read this table: Paraphrased closely from the critical illness section of FCAC's Health insurance page. Each policy contract sets the exact conditions and definitions.

TopicWhat FCAC says
How it paysUsually a one-time lump-sum payment if you're diagnosed with a critical illness
What the money may coverExpenses such as daycare, or renovations to make a home more accessible
Illnesses FCAC gives as examplesCancer, Alzheimer's disease, a heart attack, a stroke
How much is paidDepends on the amount of coverage chosen
When it is paidUsually after the diagnosis
DefinitionsInsurers may differ in how they define critical illness and in which conditions they cover
Before signingAsk a licensed insurance agent which conditions the policy covers, and read the policy carefully

Source: Health insurance — Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (critical illness insurance); Health insurance — FCAC (benefit amount and timing); Health insurance — FCAC (definitions differ by insurer); Health insurance — FCAC (check the covered conditions); Health insurance — FCAC (read the policy); Health insurance — FCAC (check workplace coverage first); Disability insurance — FCAC (what it does); Disability insurance — FCAC (share of income replaced); Disability insurance — FCAC (short-term coverage); Disability insurance — FCAC (long-term coverage); Disability insurance — FCAC (definitions of disability differ); Disability insurance — FCAC (tax when you pay the premium); Disability insurance — FCAC (tax when the employer pays); Life insurance — FCAC (the death benefit). In effect from October 11, 2026; checked October 11, 2026.

In practice a claim moves through four steps:

  1. You choose a benefit amount and a term when you buy. RBC Insurance, for example, sells amounts of $25,000 to $3,000,000.
  2. A specialist diagnoses a covered condition. The diagnosis has to match the wording in the contract. iA Financial Group puts it this way: the specialist's diagnosis must meet the exact criteria set out in the contract.
  3. You satisfy the waiting rules. These can include a survival period, a qualifying period and a symptom-free period, covered in the next sections.
  4. The insurer pays the lump sum to you. FCAC says the payment may cover expenses such as daycare or renovations to make a home more accessible, and insurers stress that the money has no strings attached. BMO Insurance lists home care, private clinics, medical equipment and travel for treatment among the uses.

Two things follow from this design. The payment does not depend on being unable to work, which is what separates it from disability insurance. And at most insurers a full payout ends the coverage: Co-operators says coverage ends once a full-payout condition has been paid, and iA Financial Group pays a one-time lump sum for life-threatening illnesses, which terminates the policy.

What illnesses does critical illness insurance cover?

A critical illness policy covers only the conditions listed and defined in the contract. FCAC names cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, a heart attack and a stroke as examples, and says insurers may differ in how they define critical illness and in which conditions they cover.

The lists on the nine pages checked overlap heavily. RBC Insurance’s list of 26 serious illnesses and conditions includes life-threatening cancer, severe heart attack, stroke, Parkinson’s disease, dementia including Alzheimer’s disease, blindness, deafness, loss of limbs, loss of speech, paralysis and occupational HIV infection. Co-operators’ Critical Assist page lists 25 full-payout conditions, among them aortic surgery, coronary artery bypass surgery, kidney failure, major organ transplant, multiple sclerosis, motor neuron disease and severe burns.

Published counts vary with the plan, not just the insurer:

  • Sun Life: Sun Critical Illness Insurance covers 26 full-payout illnesses, 8 partial-payout illnesses and 5 full-payout childhood illnesses, while its Express plan covers 1, 3 or 7 full-payout illnesses, depending on the plan chosen.
  • Manulife: Lifecheque covers 24 critical illnesses; Lifecheque Basic and CoverMe cover 5 critical illnesses.
  • iA Financial Group: Transition comes in two versions, with 25 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses or 4 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses.
  • ivari: 4-condition coverage or 25-condition coverage.
  • BMO Insurance: 25 covered conditions.
  • PolicyMe: 27 covered critical illnesses and 17 early-stage conditions.

A longer list is not automatically better cover. The words in each definition decide a claim: “severe” heart attack, “life-threatening” cancer and stroke “resulting in severe neurological deficits” are all RBC Insurance’s own qualifiers, and early-stage cancers are often excluded from the full payout. Insurers’ pages point readers to a sample policy for the full definitions, and FCAC’s advice is to read the policy carefully before signing.

Partial payouts for early-stage conditions

Several insurers pay a smaller amount for conditions caught early, such as some early-stage cancers. The rules differ enough to change what a policy is worth:

InsurerPartial benefit, as publishedEffect on the main benefit
RBC Insurance20% of the benefit amount, up to $50,000, for 8 early assistance conditionsStated not to reduce the full lump-sum benefit
Co-operators10% of the policy face amount, up to $50,000, without reducing the full coverage amountStated not to reduce the full coverage amount; one Early Assist payment only
Manulife Lifechequea 25% payout, up to $50,000, for 1 of 6 early intervention conditionsNot stated on the page
iA Financial Groupa partial benefit payable up to four times over the life of the policy, without ending itDoes not end the policy
Sun Life8 partial-payout illnesses on Sun Critical Illness InsuranceNot stated on the page
PolicyMe17 early-stage conditionsNot stated on the page

A worked example with a hypothetical benefit of $100,000: RBC Insurance’s early assistance benefit would be $20,000, Co-operators’ Early Assist payment would be $10,000, and Manulife Lifecheque’s partial benefit would be $25,000. On a larger hypothetical benefit of $400,000, the dollar caps take over: RBC Insurance’s percentage works out to $80,000, above its published cap, so the cap applies.

What is the survival period, and what other waiting periods apply?

The survival period is the number of days the insured person must live after diagnosis before the benefit is payable; Sun Life says that in Canada it is usually 30 days.

RBC Insurance defines it as the minimum number of days you must continue living after the diagnosis of a covered critical illness, before a benefit is payable, and says 30 days for some covered conditions apply at RBC. ivari and PolicyMe each state a 30-day survival period on their product pages. BMO Insurance describes the same idea without a number: the benefit is paid once the insured has satisfied a specific time period, sometimes known as a Survival Period. RBC Insurance adds a detail that surprises people: no benefit is paid unless you continue living without the assistance of life support.

The survival period is not the only clock. Three other rules appear on the pages checked:

  • Exclusion or symptom-free periods for cancer. Co-operators states no coverage for cancer or benign brain tumours during the first 90 days after issue or reinstatement. RBC Insurance describes a 90-day symptom-free period for cancer; a diagnosis inside it permanently excludes future cancer claims. Sun Life says illnesses such as cancer require the coverage to be in effect for a certain amount of time before a benefit is payable.
  • Longer exclusions for specific conditions. Co-operators states no coverage for Parkinson's disease during the first year after issue or reinstatement.
  • Qualifying periods. RBC Insurance says some conditions must be permanent, persistent or progressively worsening before a benefit is payable, and the qualifying period is the number of days needed to confirm that.

Manulife words it as a waiting period: Lifecheque Basic has a 30-day waiting period on heart attack, stroke, coronary artery bypass surgery and aortic surgery. Canada Life says you may have to wait a set period of time, depending on your condition.

How do the 9 critical illness insurers compare?

The nine insurers differ most on how many conditions they cover, how high coverage can go, and whether cover can last for life. Of the amounts and counts these pages publish, Sun Life has the highest adult ceiling, and PolicyMe has the highest condition count once its early-stage conditions are included.

Nine critical illness insurers in Canada: covered conditions, coverage amounts, terms, waiting rules and return of premium
Nine critical illness insurers in Canada: covered conditions, coverage amounts, terms, waiting rules and return of premium
Feature Covered conditionsCoverage amountsTerms offeredSurvival or waiting rule statedReturn of premium
Sun Life (Sun Critical Illness Insurance) 26 full-payout illnesses, 8 partial-payout illnesses and 5 full-payout childhood illnesses $25,000 to $4 million (better on this row) Term 10, Term 75 and Lifetime (T100) Says the survival period in Canada is usually 30 days optional return of premium on death, and return of premium on cancellation or expiry, at an additional cost
RBC Insurance 26 serious illnesses and conditions $25,000 to $3,000,000 renewable every 10, 15 or 20 years, until age 75; level premium plans to age 75 or 100 30 days for some covered conditions up to 100% of paid premiums back if you cancel (optional add-on)
Manulife (Lifecheque) 24 critical illnesses Not stated on the page Not stated on the page; Lifecheque Basic and CoverMe run to age 75 Lifecheque Basic: a 30-day waiting period on heart attack, stroke, coronary artery bypass surgery and aortic surgery Optional add-on: eligible premiums back if you surrender the policy early, the policy expires or you die without making a claim
iA Financial Group (Transition) 25 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses, or 4 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses $10,000 to $3,000,000 10, 20 or 25 years, to age 75, or for life Not stated on the page Not stated on the page
BMO Insurance (Living Benefit) 25 covered conditions Not stated on the page 10 years, 20 years, to age 75 or to age 100 Survival Period applies; length not stated on the page optional Return of Premium on Death, and optional Return of Premium on Surrender or Expiry
Co-operators (Critical Assist) 25 full-payout conditions listed on the page (YieldMaple's count) $25,000 to $2,000,000 ages 18 to 65, with level premiums and renewable options, to age 75 no coverage for cancer or benign brain tumours during the first 90 days after issue or reinstatement a Premium Payback on Surrender or Expiry rider, which can refund your premiums
Canada Life Not stated on the page; defined in the contract Not stated on the page Not stated on the page you may have to wait a set period of time, depending on your condition an optional return-of-premium benefit, available after as early as 10 years without a serious illness; choosing it ends the policy
ivari (Critical Illness Protection) 4-condition coverage or 25-condition coverage Maximum of $2,000,000 of in-force critical illness coverage from all sources Not stated on the page a 30-day survival period a return of premium on death benefit, not payable if the critical illness benefit has been paid or is payable
PolicyMe 27 covered critical illnesses and 17 early-stage conditions (better on this row) up to $1 million 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 years a 30-day survival period Not stated on the page

Sources: each insurer's own critical illness insurance pages, checked October 11, 2026. 'Not stated on the page' means the public product page did not give the fact; the insurer or an advisor can supply it. No premiums are shown because none of the nine publishes one.

The table in sentences, insurer by insurer.

Sun Life sells two products. Sun Critical Illness Insurance covers 26 full-payout illnesses, 8 partial-payout illnesses and 5 full-payout childhood illnesses for $25,000 to $4 million on adult plans and $25,000 to $1 million on child plans, for adults at ages 18 to 65, on Term 10, Term 75 and Lifetime (T100) plans. Its return of premium choices are optional return of premium on death, and return of premium on cancellation or expiry, at an additional cost. Express Critical Illness Insurance is the small online version: instant online approval with no medical exam or blood work required, for $25,000 or $50,000. On lifetime cover, Sun Life says Sun Critical Illness Insurance can cover you for your whole life; Express Critical Illness Insurance won't.

RBC Insurance covers 26 serious illnesses and conditions for $25,000 to $3,000,000. Term plans are renewable every 10, 15 or 20 years, until age 75, and there are Level Premium to Age 75 (T75) and Level Premium to Age 100 (T100) plans with fixed premiums. Its plans can change shape later: within the first 8 years, a 10-year term can be exchanged for a 15-year or 20-year term. RBC states that RBC Insurance will not cancel your policy or reduce your benefits, and applicants must be Canadian citizens, or permanent residents who have been in Canada for more than 12 months.

Manulife has three plans. Lifecheque covers 24 critical illnesses, pays a 25% payout, up to $50,000, for 1 of 6 early intervention conditions, has an optional add-on that returns eligible premiums back if you surrender the policy early, the policy expires or you die without making a claim, and lists an option to convert permanent coverage to a long term care product after 20 years. Lifecheque Basic covers 5 critical illnesses for $25,000, $50,000 or $75,000 for ages 18 to 55, with protection to age 75 even if your health or occupation changes, a 30-day money-back guarantee and an optional add-on that returns premiums back at age 75 if you have never made a claim. CoverMe is quoted and bought online through CoverMe, and its optional add-on returns up to 100% of premiums back at age 75 if no claim was made.

iA Financial Group sells Transition with 25 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses or 4 illnesses plus 5 childhood illnesses, for $10,000 to $3,000,000, at ages 0 to 65, over 10, 20 or 25 years, to age 75, or for life. Cancer Guard is a simplified issue cancer plan with no medical exams or blood tests, for $5,000 to $150,000.

BMO Insurance sells Living Benefit plans with 25 covered conditions over terms of 10 years, 20 years, to age 75 or to age 100, as a standalone plan, or a rider on its term, whole life, term 100 and universal life plans. The 10- and 20-year plans offer automatic renewal of 10- or 20-year coverage until age 75, without medical exams; the return of premium choices on the 75 and 100 plans are optional Return of Premium on Death, and optional Return of Premium on Surrender or Expiry.

Co-operators offers Critical Assist to ages 18 to 65, with level premiums and renewable options, to age 75, with payouts of $25,000 to $2,000,000, an option to convert some policies to longer-term coverage with no additional underwriting and a Premium Payback on Surrender or Expiry rider, which can refund your premiums. Its children’s plan, Head Start, is available between 30 days and 17 years old, to age 75, with payouts of $25,000 to $250,000.

Canada Life describes a tax-free payment if you're diagnosed with a serious condition and an optional return-of-premium benefit, available after as early as 10 years without a serious illness; choosing it ends the policy. Its public page does not give a condition count, a coverage range or term lengths, so those cells say so.

ivari sells 4-condition coverage or 25-condition coverage with a 30-day survival period, as a rider attached to a life insurance policy, or a standalone policy, caps cover at $2,000,000 of in-force critical illness coverage from all sources, and lists a return of premium on death benefit, not payable if the critical illness benefit has been paid or is payable.

PolicyMe lists 27 covered critical illnesses and 17 early-stage conditions, for up to $1 million, over 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 years, through an online process, approved and covered in 20 minutes on average, with one online application for both partners. It is a distributor, not an insurer: it offers policies issued by Canadian Premier Life Insurance Company, operating as Securian Canada.

Term or permanent: how long does critical illness coverage last?

Critical illness cover is sold for a fixed term, to a set age (usually 75), or for life, and the choice changes how premiums behave.

  • Renewable terms start cheaper and reprice. At RBC Insurance, premiums on the renewable term plans increase at each renewal until age 75. BMO Insurance offers automatic renewal of 10- or 20-year coverage until age 75, without medical exams, with renewal premiums guaranteed when the policy is first bought.
  • Level to age 75 fixes the premium until coverage ends. RBC Insurance has Level Premium to Age 75 (T75) and Level Premium to Age 100 (T100) plans with fixed premiums. Manulife’s Lifecheque Basic also runs to age 75, described as protection to age 75 even if your health or occupation changes; its plan details do not say how premiums behave.
  • Lifetime cover is offered by fewer plans. Sun Life says Sun Critical Illness Insurance can cover you for your whole life; Express Critical Illness Insurance won't. iA Financial Group’s Transition terms are 10, 20 or 25 years, to age 75, or for life, and BMO Insurance’s are 10 years, 20 years, to age 75 or to age 100.
  • Fixed terms only at PolicyMe: 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 years.

The same term-versus-permanent trade-off applies to life cover; the guide to life insurance in Canada explains it with FCAC’s definitions, and the term life insurance comparison covers term policies on their own.

What is a return of premium rider?

A return of premium rider refunds some or all of the premiums paid if the policy never pays a critical illness benefit; it is optional and costs extra.

Three versions appear on the pages checked:

  • On death. Premiums go to a beneficiary if the insured dies without a claim. ivari’s version is a return of premium on death benefit, not payable if the critical illness benefit has been paid or is payable.
  • On cancellation or surrender. RBC Insurance’s add-on returns up to 100% of paid premiums back if you cancel (optional add-on). Canada Life offers an optional return-of-premium benefit, available after as early as 10 years without a serious illness; choosing it ends the policy.
  • On expiry. RBC Insurance returns all paid premiums back in a lump sum if the policy expires without a claim (optional add-on). Manulife’s Lifecheque Basic returns premiums back at age 75 if you have never made a claim, and CoverMe returns up to 100% of premiums back at age 75 if no claim was made.

Sun Life lists optional return of premium on death, and return of premium on cancellation or expiry, at an additional cost. Co-operators offers a Premium Payback on Surrender or Expiry rider, which can refund your premiums. BMO Insurance’s footnote explains that its surrender or expiry option returns eligible premiums paid from the policy effective date to the date the option is elected.

The rider’s price is the part no insurer publishes, and it is what decides the value: a policy with the rider costs more every year than the same policy without it, and the refund carries no interest. Canada Life adds a caution of its own: the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenue Quebec have not provided a formal ruling on the tax treatment of return-of-premium benefits in a critical illness policy.

How is critical illness insurance different from disability and life insurance?

Critical illness insurance pays a lump sum on diagnosis, disability insurance replaces part of your income while you cannot work, and life insurance pays your beneficiaries when you die.

Critical illness, disability and life insurance compared (FCAC descriptions)

How to read this table: Each column paraphrases FCAC's page for that type of insurance. Individual policies set their own definitions, amounts and waiting periods.

FeatureCritical illness insuranceDisability insuranceLife insurance
What triggers a paymentA diagnosis of a critical illness the policy coversBeing unable to work and earn an income because of an illness or injuryDeath while the policy is in effect
How it paysUsually a one-time lump sumReplaces part of income, up to a maximum amount, for a specified timeA one-time payment called a death benefit
How the amount is setThe amount of coverage chosenGenerally between 60% and 85% of incomeThe death benefit in the policy
Who receives itThe insured personThe insured personThe beneficiaries
Tax treatment, as FCAC describes itNot stated on FCAC's pageGenerally tax-free if you pay the whole premium yourself; taxable if an employer pays all or partTax-free

Source: Health insurance — Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (critical illness insurance); Health insurance — FCAC (benefit amount and timing); Health insurance — FCAC (definitions differ by insurer); Health insurance — FCAC (check the covered conditions); Health insurance — FCAC (read the policy); Health insurance — FCAC (check workplace coverage first); Disability insurance — FCAC (what it does); Disability insurance — FCAC (share of income replaced); Disability insurance — FCAC (short-term coverage); Disability insurance — FCAC (long-term coverage); Disability insurance — FCAC (definitions of disability differ); Disability insurance — FCAC (tax when you pay the premium); Disability insurance — FCAC (tax when the employer pays); Life insurance — FCAC (the death benefit). In effect from October 11, 2026; checked October 11, 2026.

FCAC says disability insurance generally replaces between 60% and 85% of income, that short-term coverage typically pays for up to 6 months, and that most long-term plans replace 60% to 70% of normal income. It also notes that insurers may define disability differently, even between plans from the same company. Canada Life’s page makes the practical point that the two products work together: one covers a large one-time cost, the other covers monthly bills.

The gaps run both ways. A back injury that stops someone working for a year is a disability claim and not a critical illness claim. A covered cancer diagnosis in someone who keeps working pays the critical illness benefit and no disability benefit. And a death within the survival period pays neither, which is where life insurance or a return of premium on death rider comes in. Government programs sit beside all three: the guide to CPP disability benefits covers the public pension side, and the disability tax credit guide covers the tax side.

Is a critical illness payout taxable in Canada?

Insurers describe the lump sum as tax-free, but Sun Life notes that the Canada Revenue Agency has not published its own position on critical illness benefits.

The wording on the pages checked is worth reading side by side. Manulife and Canada Life call the benefit tax-free. iA Financial Group says the lump sum paid to you is non-taxable. ivari attaches a footnote: under the Income Tax Act (Canada), the receipt of critical illness benefits is not currently taxable, and adds that it does not guarantee the tax treatment. Co-operators marks “tax-free” with a note that tax rules may change at any time. Sun Life says the Canada Revenue Agency has not developed its own position on the tax treatment of a benefit paid under a critical illness policy. FCAC’s critical illness section does not mention tax at all, although its disability page says disability benefits are generally tax-free when you pay the whole premium yourself and taxable when an employer pays all or part.

For a policy an individual pays for personally, the insurers’ pages agree on the practical outcome. Employer-paid and business-owned policies, and return of premium refunds, are where the pages hedge, so those are questions for a tax professional.

How much critical illness coverage do people consider?

There is no official rule; insurers suggest working from lost income, ongoing bills and the extra costs of treatment.

Canada Life’s page walks through three inputs: income you and a spouse might lose, current expenses that continue, and added costs such as health care, childcare during treatment and domestic help. A worked example with hypothetical numbers: a household that would lose $4,500 a month of take-home pay for 12 months, and expects $15,000 of extra costs, would be looking at $69,000. Savings already set aside reduce that figure; the emergency fund calculator shows how many months of expenses a cushion covers, and the mortgage calculator gives the payment a lump sum would need to keep up.

Published minimums and maximums bound the choice. iA Financial Group’s Transition range is $10,000 to $3,000,000, RBC Insurance’s is $25,000 to $3,000,000, Co-operators’ is $25,000 to $2,000,000, and Manulife’s Lifecheque Basic offers $25,000, $50,000 or $75,000 for ages 18 to 55. FCAC’s reminder applies before any of this: check a workplace plan first, so you do not buy coverage you already have.

Questions to ask before buying critical illness insurance

FCAC’s two instructions are to ask a licensed agent which conditions the policy covers and to read the policy before signing. This checklist turns the differences found on the nine pages into questions:

  1. Which conditions pay in full, and how is each one defined? Ask for the sample policy, and read the cancer, heart attack and stroke definitions first.
  2. Which conditions pay a partial benefit, and does a partial payment reduce the main benefit? RBC Insurance and Co-operators say theirs does not.
  3. What is the survival period, and for which conditions? Thirty days is the figure Sun Life, ivari and PolicyMe state.
  4. What exclusion or symptom-free periods apply after the policy starts? Co-operators and RBC Insurance both publish a 90-day rule for cancer.
  5. Is the cover renewable term, level to age 75, or for life, and what happens to the premium at each renewal?
  6. Can the plan be exchanged or converted later without new medical underwriting? RBC Insurance and Co-operators both describe such options.
  7. What does each return of premium rider cost, when can it be used, and how much comes back?
  8. Is the policy standalone or a rider on a life policy, and what happens to the rider if the life policy ends?
  9. What medical evidence is required at application? RBC Insurance says a telephone interview, medical exams and medical documentation may be needed, depending on age, plan and coverage amount.
  10. Who issues the policy, and is the insurer an Assuris member? If a member insurer fails, Assuris says you retain up to $250,000 or 90% of your benefit amount, whichever is higher. On a hypothetical $300,000 benefit, the 90% rule gives $270,000.
  11. Is there a money-back period after purchase? Manulife’s Lifecheque Basic states a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Which insurer fits which situation?

No insurer is the right match for everyone; these pairings use only what each insurer publishes.

  • Want the highest coverage ceiling: Sun Life’s adult range is $25,000 to $4 million.
  • Want to apply online without an advisor: PolicyMe offers an online process, approved and covered in 20 minutes on average; Sun Life’s Express plan offers instant online approval with no medical exam or blood work required; Manulife’s CoverMe is quoted and bought online through CoverMe.
  • Want a small, simple policy: Manulife’s Lifecheque Basic and CoverMe cover 5 critical illnesses, and iA Financial Group’s Cancer Guard is a cancer-only plan sold in amounts of $5,000 to $150,000.
  • Want cover for life or to age 100: Sun Life’s Lifetime plan, RBC Insurance’s level premium plan to age 100, BMO Insurance’s “to age 100” plan and iA Financial Group’s for-life term are stated on their pages.
  • Want cover for a child: Sun Life and Co-operators both publish child plans from 30 days old, and iA Financial Group’s Transition includes childhood illnesses.
  • Already buying life insurance: BMO Insurance and ivari both sell critical illness cover as a rider, and ivari states a saving of up to 15% compared with buying the two separately.
  • A newcomer: RBC Insurance requires applicants to be Canadian citizens, or permanent residents who have been in Canada for more than 12 months; other pages did not state a residency rule.

Someone with money already set aside can weigh a smaller benefit against that cushion; the guide to the best high-interest savings accounts for an emergency fund compares where it can sit.

Common mistakes with critical illness insurance

  • Reading the list and skipping the definitions. A named condition pays only when the diagnosis meets the contract wording.
  • Forgetting the early exclusion periods. A cancer diagnosis in the first 90 days can leave the policy in force with cancer permanently excluded, as RBC Insurance describes.
  • Treating it as income replacement. One lump sum is not a monthly income; FCAC’s description of disability insurance is the one built around replacing pay.
  • Assuming workplace cover follows you. Sun Life mentions a separate product for people who had critical illness cover through a Sun Life workplace plan and are leaving that employer, which makes “what happens to this cover if the job ends?” a question for the plan administrator.
  • Comparing return of premium riders by the refund alone. The extra premium and the date the option opens matter as much.
  • Assuming the tax treatment of every payout is settled. The insurers’ own footnotes say otherwise for return of premium refunds.

How this list was put together

YieldMaple read each insurer’s own critical illness insurance pages on October 11, 2026 and recorded only the conditions, amounts, terms, waiting rules and riders stated there, with the exact wording saved for each fact. Sun Life’s, Manulife’s and BMO Insurance’s sites block automated readers, so their pages were read in a regular browser; Sun Life’s answers were opened one at a time. No insurer supplied information or paid to be listed, and there are no affiliate links on this page. The list is not exhaustive: other insurers sell critical illness insurance in Canada, and leaving one out is not a judgment about it. Industry benchmark definitions from the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association are not reproduced here because they could not be read on an official public page on the check date. Premiums are not shown because none of the nine publishes one; a personal quote is the only price that applies to you.

Frequently asked questions

What is critical illness insurance in Canada?

Critical illness insurance is a policy that pays a one-time lump sum if you are diagnosed with a serious illness the policy covers. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) says the payment may cover expenses such as daycare or home renovations, and that the amount depends on the coverage you choose. Most insurers also require you to outlive a survival period; Sun Life says that in Canada it is usually 30 days. The money can be used for anything.

What does critical illness insurance cover?

It covers the conditions named and defined in the policy, and nothing else. FCAC gives cancer, Alzheimer's disease, a heart attack and a stroke as examples. The count differs by insurer and plan: Sun Life covers 26 full-payout illnesses, 8 partial-payout illnesses and 5 full-payout childhood illnesses, RBC Insurance 26 serious illnesses and conditions, BMO Insurance 25 covered conditions, and Manulife's Lifecheque Basic 5 critical illnesses. A diagnosis has to meet the policy's definition; iA Financial Group says the specialist's diagnosis must meet the exact criteria set out in the contract.

What is the survival period in critical illness insurance?

RBC Insurance defines the survival period as the minimum number of days you must continue living after the diagnosis of a covered critical illness, before a benefit is payable. Sun Life says that in Canada it is usually 30 days, and ivari and PolicyMe each state a 30-day survival period on their product pages. RBC Insurance adds that no benefit is paid unless you continue living without the assistance of life support. If the insured person dies during the survival period, the critical illness benefit is not paid, which is one reason some people pair this cover with life insurance.

Is a critical illness insurance payout taxable in Canada?

Insurers describe the benefit as tax-free, with caveats. ivari says under the Income Tax Act (Canada), the receipt of critical illness benefits is not currently taxable, and iA Financial Group says the lump sum paid to you is non-taxable. Sun Life is more cautious: the Canada Revenue Agency has not developed its own position on the tax treatment of a benefit paid under a critical illness policy. FCAC's page on critical illness insurance does not state a tax treatment. This page is general education, so a tax professional or the Canada Revenue Agency is the place to confirm how the rules apply to a specific policy, especially one paid for by an employer or a business.

What is a return of premium rider on critical illness insurance?

A return of premium rider is an optional add-on, at extra cost, that refunds premiums if no critical illness benefit is ever paid. Insurers offer up to three versions: on death, on cancellation (surrender), and on expiry. RBC Insurance's add-on returns up to 100% of paid premiums back if you cancel (optional add-on). Canada Life offers an optional return-of-premium benefit, available after as early as 10 years without a serious illness; choosing it ends the policy. Canada Life also notes that the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenue Quebec have not provided a formal ruling on the tax treatment of return-of-premium benefits in a critical illness policy.

What is the difference between critical illness and disability insurance?

Critical illness insurance pays one lump sum after the diagnosis of a covered condition, whether or not you can work. Disability insurance replaces part of your income while you are unable to work; FCAC says it generally replaces between 60% and 85% of income, up to a maximum, for a specified time. A broken leg can trigger a disability claim and never a critical illness claim, while a cancer diagnosis can pay a critical illness benefit even if you keep working.

What is the difference between critical illness and life insurance?

The trigger is different. Life insurance pays a death benefit to your beneficiaries when you die; FCAC describes it as a one-time, tax-free payment. Critical illness insurance pays the insured person while they are alive, after a covered diagnosis and any survival period. Some insurers sell the two together: BMO Insurance offers critical illness cover as a standalone plan, or a rider on its term, whole life, term 100 and universal life plans, and ivari says bundling can save up to 15% compared with buying the two separately.

How much does critical illness insurance cost in Canada?

None of the nine insurers checked publishes a premium on its critical illness page, so this page does not quote one. BMO Insurance says costs vary with your age, the coverage amount and the riders you add. Sun Life lists the type of plan, the payment period, and your gender, age, smoking status and medical history. Premium structure matters too: at RBC Insurance, premiums on the renewable term plans increase at each renewal until age 75, while its level premium plans stay fixed. A personal quote is the only real price.

Do you need a medical exam for critical illness insurance?

It depends on the product and the amount. Sun Life's Express Critical Illness Insurance offers instant online approval with no medical exam or blood work required, for coverage of $25,000 or $50,000. iA Financial Group's Cancer Guard is a simplified issue cancer plan with no medical exams or blood tests. For larger amounts, insurers may ask for a telephone interview, a medical exam or medical records; RBC Insurance says this depends on your age, the plan and the coverage amount.

Can you get critical illness insurance after having cancer?

Sometimes. iA Financial Group says it is possible, generally after being in recovery for a certain period of time, and that the time required varies. Insurers assess each application on its own facts, and RBC Insurance lists not having been diagnosed with or treated for certain medical conditions among its eligibility requirements. A licensed advisor or the insurer can say whether an application is possible and whether a condition would be excluded from coverage.

Is critical illness insurance worth it in Canada?

It is a personal decision, not one this page can make. The questions that usually decide it are how long savings would last without full income, whether a workplace plan already includes critical illness or disability cover, and what debts continue during treatment. FCAC suggests checking workplace coverage before buying additional health insurance. The cover is narrow by design: it pays only for the conditions defined in the policy, after any survival and waiting periods.

What happens to a critical illness policy if the insurer fails?

Assuris, the organization that protects Canadian policyholders if a member life and health insurer fails, treats a critical illness policy as a health expense. If a member insurer fails, Assuris says you retain up to $250,000 or 90% of your benefit amount, whichever is higher. A benefit at or below that dollar amount is protected in full; above it, the protected amount is the higher of the two figures. ivari, for example, states on its page that it is an Assuris member.

Rules, rates and sources

Last verified
Next scheduled check
Rule or tableIn effect fromVerified
Critical illness insurance basics, and how it differs from disability and life insurance (FCAC) October 11, 2026 October 11, 2026

Official sources

How we check figures: our methodology and editorial policy.

General information for education, not financial, tax, legal or immigration advice. Rules change — confirm anything you act on with the official source or a licensed professional (for immigration, a lawyer or a licensed consultant registered with the College of Immigration and Citizenship Consultants).