Skip to main content
YieldMaple
Open menu

Best of Insurance

Best Pet Insurance in Canada: 7 Insurers Compared on the Fine Print

By Alex Francisco Updated Figures checked 10 min read

What is the best pet insurance in Canada?

Pet insurance in Canada pays back part of an unexpected vet bill after a deductible. Trupanion pays up to 90% with no payout limits, while Fetch and Pets Plus Us let buyers choose 70%, 80% or 90%. All seven insurers checked on September 30, 2026 say pre-existing conditions are excluded or may not be covered, and Trupanion's pages describe paying the vet directly at checkout.

  • Trupanion pays up to 90% of eligible costs with no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits, and its deductible is a lifetime per-incident deductible (paid once per condition, not once a year).
  • Fetch offers a reimbursement rate of 70%, 80% or 90%, covers pets 6 weeks and older with no upper-age limits, and has no waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses.
  • Pets Plus Us Accident and Illness pays 70%, 80% or 90% of the bill, including tax, up to $7,500 or $15,000 a year, and Costco's member pricing is 10% off for Gold Star and Business members, 15% off for Executive members.
  • Petsecure pays 80%, including exam fees and taxes, but its co-insurance can move from the standard 20% to 30%, 40% or a maximum of 50% after a review of claims history.
  • Furkin reimburses 80% of eligible expenses, up to $20,000 a year less the deductible, with no per-condition or lifetime limits on eligible conditions; it is sold in all provinces and territories except Quebec and Nunavut.
  • Three insurers publish price figures: Fetch averages $35/mo. for dogs and $22/mo. for cats, Desjardins lists averages from $44 a month for a dog and $31 for a cat (Bronze Paw) to $203 a month for a dog and $126 for a cat (Gold Paw), and Sonnet says the typical owner pays $43 to $84 a month for a dog and $27 to $50 for a cat. The other four showed no price figures on the pages checked.

— YieldMaple, figures checked against official sources on September 30, 2026. Sources

How we chose: Pet insurers selling accident-and-illness coverage to Canadian residents on their own websites. Every feature comes from each insurer's own Canadian pages and FAQs, checked September 30, 2026. The order is not a ranking: specialist pet insurers come first, then pet plans sold under a financial institution's or a home-and-auto insurer's brand, and no insurer paid to be included. No quotes or ratings are shown, because premiums depend on the pet and the address; the only prices are averages that insurers publish themselves.

  1. #1 · Best for paying the vet directly at checkout

    Trupanion

    • Pays its share straight to participating clinics through VetDirect Pay, so the owner pays only their portion
    • No annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits
    • Per-condition deductible paid once for the pet's lifetime, not every year
    • Enrols cats and dogs up to an upper age limit; does not cover wellness care or exam fees

    Trupanion official site

  2. #2 · Best for curable pre-existing conditions and no accident waiting period

    Fetch

    • Can cover a curable pre-existing condition once the pet goes a full policy year symptom-free
    • No waiting period for accidents; illness coverage starts after the illness waiting period
    • Choice of reimbursement rate, annual deductible and annual maximum
    • Covers the sick-visit exam fee; no upper age limit; reimbursement only (no direct vet pay)

    Fetch official site

  3. #3 · Best for an accident-only plan option, or Costco member pricing

    Pets Plus Us

    • Sells an Accident plan and an Accident and Illness plan, with optional Wellness add-ons
    • Choice of three reimbursement levels and two annual limits on Accident and Illness
    • Age-based annual deductible, charged only in a year a claim is made
    • Available in every province and territory; no breed exclusions

    Pets Plus Us official site

  4. #4 · Best for enrolling an older pet

    Petsecure

    • States there are no age limits to enrol (older dogs and cats need extra medical information)
    • Four plans; exam fees and taxes count toward the covered bill
    • One annual deductible that steps up twice as the pet ages; the premium is not based on age
    • Co-insurance can be raised after a claims review, which is spelled out in its FAQ

    Petsecure official site

  5. #5 · Best for a single annual limit with no per-condition caps

    Furkin

    • Single annual maximum that renews every year, with no per-condition or lifetime caps
    • Three age-based annual deductible options
    • Exam fees and taxes covered; enrolment is open to young pets up to an upper age limit
    • Not sold in Quebec or Nunavut; no wellness add-on yet

    Furkin official site

  6. #6 · Best for tiered plans that can include preventive care

    Desjardins Pet Insurance — Desjardins

    • Three tiers: Bronze Paw, Silver Paw and Gold Paw, with unlimited accident and illness amounts on Gold Paw
    • One deductible per year based on the pet's age, and none in a year with no claims
    • Some plans add dental cleanings, vaccination and flea treatments; average monthly prices are published for each tier
    • Underwritten by Petline Insurance Company, the same insurer behind Petsecure

    Desjardins Pet Insurance official site

  7. #7 · Best for existing Sonnet home or auto customers

    Sonnet Pet Insurance — Sonnet

    • Discount for customers who already hold a Sonnet home or auto policy
    • Exam fees and taxes count toward the covered bill; the buyer picks the deductible
    • Fixed per-accident and per-condition, per-year limits rather than one annual maximum
    • Sold in B.C., Alberta, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island; underwritten by Petline

    Sonnet Pet Insurance official site

Pet insurance in Canada reimburses part of the cost when a dog or cat is suddenly hurt or sick, but the seven insurers below write very different rules about deductibles, limits, waiting periods and who pays the vet. This guide lays those rules side by side, using only what each insurer publishes on its own Canadian pages, so the fine print can be compared before asking for quotes. It is general education, not financial or insurance advice.

Pet insurance in Canada at a glance

YieldMaple checked each insurer’s Canadian website and FAQ on September 30, 2026. “Not stated” means the insurer’s public pages did not say; the sample policy or a quote will.

InsurerShare of the bill paidDeductibleWaiting periodsAge at enrolmentWellness / routine carePays the vet directly?
TrupanionUp to 90%; no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limitsa lifetime per-incident deductible (paid once per condition, not once a year)Not stated for Canadacats and dogs under 14 years of ageNone: no routine, wellness or preventive care coverageYes, pays its share to participating vets at checkout (VetDirect Pay)
Fetch70%, 80% or 90%an annual deductible you choose at sign-upno waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses6 weeks and older, no upper-age limitsOptional, up to $1,200/yr. for preventive careNo: no direct vet payment; reimbursement only
Pets Plus Us70%, 80% or 90% of the bill, including tax, up to $7,500 or $15,000 a yearan age-based annual deductible, paid only in a year you claim48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnessesNot statedOptional: Routine Wellness up to $260/year; Advanced Wellness up to $530/yearNot stated
Petsecure80%, including exam fees and taxesone annual deductible, not per condition; rises once after age 5 and again after age 1048 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for cruciate ligament injuries, disc disease and dentalno age limits (extra medical information for dogs over 8 and cats over 10)wellness coverage on Secure 4 onlyReimburses: you pay the vet, then submit a claim
Furkin80% of eligible expenses, up to $20,000 a year less the deductiblethree annual deductible options that step up with the pet's age48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 180 days for cruciate ligament conditionsat least 7 weeks old and under 14 years at enrolmentno wellness add-on yet (announced as coming)Reimburses: reimbursement to you by direct deposit
Desjardins80% of eligible costsone deductible per year, based on the pet's age48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for dental careNot statedpreventive care (dental cleanings, vaccination, flea treatments) on some plansNot stated
Sonnetup to 80%, including exam fees and taxesyou choose the deductible when quotingNot statedNot statedDental: annual cleanings covered; preventive care is listed among covered items (no amount stated)Not stated

Two ownership details are easy to miss. Petsecure, Desjardins Pet Insurance and Sonnet Pet Insurance are all underwritten by Petline Insurance Company, so their plans share a lot of structure even though the brands differ. Trupanion and Furkin are both sold by the same Canadian company: Trupanion is sold and administered by Canada Pet Health Insurance Services, Inc. (dba Trupanion), and Furkin is underwritten by GPIC Insurance Company; sold by Canada Pet Health Insurance Services, Inc. (dba Furkin).

What does pet insurance cover in Canada?

Pet insurance in Canada covers new accidents and illnesses that start after the waiting period, up to the plan’s limits. It does not cover conditions the pet already had, and routine care such as vaccines generally needs a wellness add-on or a higher plan tier.

A standard accident and illness policy pays toward diagnostics, imaging, surgery, hospital stays and prescription drugs for a covered problem. The details that change the payout most are:

  • Exam fees and taxes. Petsecure pays 80%, including exam fees and taxes, Sonnet pays up to 80%, including exam fees and taxes, and Furkin states exam fees and taxes covered. Fetch: sick-visit exam fee covered. Trupanion is different: exam fees are not covered, which it describes as a deliberate choice, calling exam fees and taxes costs an owner can more easily plan for. Taxes can be a real share of an invoice; the HST calculator splits any bill into its pre-tax amount and sales tax for each province.
  • Limits. Trupanion has no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits, and Furkin has no per-condition or lifetime limits on eligible conditions within its annual maximum. Pets Plus Us Accident and Illness offers $7,500 or $15,000 a year. Sonnet caps illness at $2500 per condition, per year and accidents at $2500 per accident. Desjardins sets accident limits by tier: Bronze Paw up to $2,000 per accident, Silver Paw up to $4,000, Gold Paw unlimited. Petsecure’s top plan has Secure 4: unlimited per accident and per condition.
  • Accident-only plans. Pets Plus Us sells a choice of Accident, or Accident & Illness. An accident-only plan pays nothing toward illness, so a cancer, diabetes or allergy diagnosis falls entirely on the owner.
  • Breed conditions. Pets Plus Us says it has no breed exclusions, and covers breed-linked conditions that are not pre-existing.

How do the deductible and reimbursement percentage work together?

The insurer first applies its percentage and deductible to the eligible part of the bill, and the order of those two steps changes the cheque. Petsecure and Furkin both state that co-insurance comes first, then the deductible.

Here is one hypothetical bill worked two ways. Assume an eligible vet bill of $2,000, a reimbursement rate of 80% (co-insurance of 20%), and an annual deductible of $300 not yet met this year. Furkin, for scale, lists deductible options of $100, $300 or $750 for pets under age 5.

Method 1: co-insurance first, then deductible (the order Petsecure and Furkin describe: co-insurance first, then the deductible):

  1. Apply the percentage: $1,600 is eligible for payment.
  2. Subtract the deductible: $1,300 is paid to the owner.
  3. The owner’s share of the bill: $700.

Method 2: deductible first, then percentage (the other order a policy can use; the sample policy states which one applies):

  1. Subtract the deductible: $1,700 remains.
  2. Apply the percentage: $1,360 is paid to the owner.
  3. The owner’s share of the bill: $640.

Same bill, same percentage, same deductible, and a gap of $60 purely from the order of operations. The gap grows as the percentage falls or the deductible rises.

A small bill. With a $250 eligible bill under Method 1, the percentage leaves $200, which is below the $300 deductible, so nothing is paid. Petsecure’s FAQ still recommends submitting it, because claims work toward satisfying the annual deductible for later bills that year.

A per-condition deductible. Trupanion uses a lifetime per-incident deductible (paid once per condition, not once a year). Suppose a chronic ear problem costs $2,000 a year, the pet’s deductible is $250 and the rate is 90%, with the deductible taken off first. In year one the payout is $1,575. In year two the same condition has no new deductible, so the payout is $1,800. A plan with an annual deductible would charge the $250 again each year. The flip side: a pet with several unrelated problems pays a deductible for each one.

A limit that runs out. Sonnet’s illness limit is $2500 per condition, per year. If a covered illness costs $6,000 in one year, the plan’s percentage share would be $4,800, but the payout stops at the limit, leaving the owner at least $3,500 before any deductible. When one premium is much lower than another, the limit is one of the first settings to compare.

The credit card payment calculator shows how long an uncovered share takes to clear if it lands on a card.

Which pet insurance is best for which pet owner?

The best pet insurance in Canada depends on which risk matters most to the owner: paying the whole bill upfront, hitting a limit, or paying for coverage an older pet cannot use.

  • Trupanion fits owners who cannot front a large bill. It offers direct payment through VetDirect Pay at over 11,000 veterinary clinics and hospitals in the US and Canada, pays up to 90%, and has no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits. The trade-offs: no exam fees, no wellness, and enrolment only for cats and dogs under 14 years of age.
  • Fetch fits owners who want flexibility and fast accident cover. It offers 70%, 80% or 90%, no waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses, and no upper-age limits. Its pages also say curable pre-existing conditions can be covered after 1 policy year symptom-free. It pays owners, not vets.
  • Pets Plus Us fits owners who want accident-only cover or have a Costco membership. It is available in all provinces and territories, sells an accident-only option, and Costco members get 10% off for Gold Star and Business members, 15% off for Executive members.
  • Petsecure fits owners of older pets. It states no age limits (extra medical information for dogs over 8 and cats over 10), and its premium is set by species, breed and postal code rather than age, while the deductible steps up instead.
  • Furkin fits owners who want one annual limit with no per-condition caps. It reimburses 80% of eligible expenses, up to $20,000 a year less the deductible, with no per-condition or lifetime limits on eligible conditions, but it is sold only in all provinces and territories except Quebec and Nunavut.
  • Sonnet fits owners who already hold a Sonnet home or auto policy. Sonnet offers up to 5% off to those customers in B.C., Alberta, Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and P.E.I..
  • Desjardins fits owners who want preventive care inside a plan tier. Its Gold Paw tier removes the accident and illness caps and includes preventive care.

How much is pet insurance in Canada?

Pet insurance prices in Canada are set by quote for each pet, and three of the seven insurers publish price figures on the pages checked. Fetch states $35/mo. for dogs and $22/mo. for cats, Desjardins lists plan averages, and Sonnet gives a typical range.

InsurerPublished figureWhat it is based on
Fetch$35/mo. for dogs and $22/mo. for catsAverage premium on a $10,000 annual limit, $300 deductible and 80% reimbursement, July 2024 to June 2025
DesjardinsBronze Paw: $44 a month for a dog and $31 for a cat; Gold Paw: $203 a month for a dog and $126 for a catAverage monthly price per plan tier, as listed in its plan table
Sonnet$43 to $84 a month for a dog and $27 to $50 for a catWhat Sonnet says the typical pet owner can expect to pay

Over a year, Fetch’s averages work out to about $420 for a dog and $264 for a cat. The Desjardins figures show how much the tier matters: its Gold Paw dog average is about 4.6 times its Bronze Paw dog average; Gold Paw also removes the accident and illness caps and adds preventive care. The other four showed no price figures on the pages checked and direct buyers to a quote: Petsecure says its premium depends on species, breed and postal code, and Pets Plus Us lists age, breed, location, coverage level, deductible and reimbursement option as price factors.

Three settings move a quote the most: the reimbursement percentage, the deductible and the annual limit. Quotes are only comparable when they use the same percentage, a similar deductible and a similar limit; the exclusions are the remaining difference.

Does pet insurance cover pre-existing conditions?

Every insurer on this page says pre-existing conditions are excluded or may not be covered: generally anything that showed signs before coverage began or during the waiting period, even if it was never diagnosed.

Petsecure’s FAQ answers the question with a flat no, and Pets Plus Us excludes conditions that are not covered, even if not yet diagnosed. Furkin says not covered, and extends this to associated conditions and to the matching body part on the other side (a knee problem on one leg makes the other knee pre-existing too). Trupanion’s position is not covered; a Medical Record Summary at enrolment lists them. Desjardins says problems that start before the insurance or within the waiting period are considered pre-existing and may not be covered.

There are two partial exceptions. At Fetch, curable pre-existing conditions can be covered after 1 policy year symptom-free, for problems such as urinary tract or upper respiratory infections. Petsecure’s FAQ says some exclusions for a non-recurring issue, such as an ear infection, can be reviewed on request; at the time of that review the pet must be free of symptoms and not need treatment. The practical lesson is timing: a puppy or kitten enrolled young has almost nothing on its record to exclude.

How long are pet insurance waiting periods?

Four of the seven insurers publish the same pair of waiting periods, a short one for accidents and a longer one for illnesses; Petsecure, Desjardins and Furkin add a much longer wait for cruciate (knee) ligament problems, and Fetch has no accident wait at all.

  • Petsecure: 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for cruciate ligament injuries, disc disease and dental.
  • Desjardins: 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for dental care, plus 6 months for cruciate ligament injuries or intervertebral disc disease.
  • Pets Plus Us: 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses.
  • Furkin: 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 180 days for cruciate ligament conditions.
  • Fetch: no waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses.

Trupanion’s Canadian pages did not state waiting periods specific to Canada on the check date, so its sample policy is the place to confirm them. Anything that begins during a waiting period is normally excluded as pre-existing, which is why buying cover the week a pet is already limping does not help with that limp.

Is pet insurance worth it in Canada?

Pet insurance is worth it in Canada mainly for owners who could not pay a large, sudden vet bill from savings; owners with a dedicated fund can often self-insure.

Insurance is a trade: a steady premium in exchange for protection against a bill that could reach thousands. Using Fetch’s published dog average, a year of premiums is about $420, while the hypothetical $6,000 illness above is many times that. The pet that never gets seriously sick will cost more in premiums than it claims; the pet that needs surgery will not.

An alternative is a dedicated pet fund. The emergency fund calculator helps size one, and a high-interest savings account for an emergency fund keeps it separate and earning interest; the high-interest savings account comparison covers the wider market. Some owners hold both: insurance for the rare large bill and savings for the deductible, the co-insurance share and routine care. For money set aside for years, a TFSA lets interest grow tax-free. If a bill already sits on a credit card, the debt payoff calculator shows the fastest way to clear it.

Insurer-by-insurer notes

Trupanion. Trupanion pays up to 90% with no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits. Its deductible is a lifetime per-incident deductible (paid once per condition, not once a year). It enrols cats and dogs under 14 years of age and then renews for life. It offers no routine, wellness or preventive care coverage, and exam fees are not covered. Owners have a full year to file a claim.

Fetch. Fetch offers 70%, 80% or 90% and an annual deductible you choose at sign-up. It covers pets 6 weeks and older with no upper-age limits, lets owners use any vet in Canada or the U.S., and requires claims within 90 days from the invoice date. It offers no direct vet payment; reimbursement only.

Pets Plus Us. Accident and Illness pays 70%, 80% or 90% of the bill, including tax, with $7,500 or $15,000 a year of cover and an age-based annual deductible, paid only in a year you claim. The optional wellness add-on offers Routine Wellness up to $260/year; Advanced Wellness up to $530/year, reimbursed separately from the deductible. Owners can use any licensed veterinarian across Canada.

Petsecure. Petsecure sells four plans, Secure 1 to Secure 4. It pays 80%, including exam fees and taxes, applies one annual deductible, not per condition, and its deductible rises once after age 5 and again after age 10. One rule deserves attention: after a review of the past two years of claims, co-insurance can move from the standard 20% to 30%, 40% or a maximum of 50%. Petsecure says the adjustment does not change coverage limits, and a later review may return the policy to a lower co-insurance level. Claims are due within 6 months after the date of treatment.

Furkin. Furkin reimburses 80% of eligible expenses, up to $20,000 a year less the deductible, offers three annual deductible options that step up with the pet's age, and accepts pets at least 7 weeks old and under 14 years at enrolment. It pays by reimbursement to you by direct deposit, and its public FAQ reports that it has no wellness add-on yet (announced as coming).

Desjardins. Desjardins Pet Insurance reimburses 80% of eligible costs, sets accident limits of Bronze Paw up to $2,000 per accident, Silver Paw up to $4,000, Gold Paw unlimited, and charges one deductible per year, based on the pet's age. It is underwritten by Petline Insurance Company.

Sonnet. Sonnet Pet Insurance pays up to 80%, including exam fees and taxes, lets the buyer pick the deductible, and caps accidents at $2500 per accident and illness at $2500 per condition, per year. It is underwritten by Petline Insurance Company.

Common mistakes when buying pet insurance

  • Comparing premiums without matching the settings. A quote with a lower percentage, higher deductible or low annual limit will always look cheaper.
  • Ignoring the order of the deductible and co-insurance. As the worked example shows, the same numbers can pay different amounts.
  • Waiting until the pet is sick. Anything that starts before coverage or inside a waiting period is excluded.
  • Assuming wellness is included. Vaccines, flea prevention and spaying need an add-on or a higher tier, and Trupanion and Furkin do not offer one.
  • Skipping small claims. Under an annual deductible, a claim below the deductible can still count toward it.
  • Missing the claim deadline. Deadlines here range from 90 days from the invoice date at Fetch to a full year at Trupanion.

How this page was researched

YieldMaple read each insurer’s own Canadian home page, coverage pages and FAQ on September 30, 2026, saved the page text, and quoted every figure from it. No quotes were requested, and this page carries no referral links for any insurer. Features change, and the insurer’s policy wording always governs, so confirm any detail in the sample policy before buying. Pet insurance premiums and payouts are between the owner and the insurer; this page explains how the plans work and does not recommend a policy for any particular pet.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best pet insurance in Canada?

No single plan wins on every feature. Trupanion pays up to 90% with no annual, lifetime or per-condition payout limits and can pay the vet directly; Fetch lets owners choose 70%, 80% or 90% and can cover curable pre-existing conditions; Pets Plus Us also sells an accident-only plan; Petsecure has no age limits (extra medical information for dogs over 8 and cats over 10). YieldMaple compares the rules each insurer publishes rather than scoring them, because the right fit depends on the pet's age, breed and the size of bill the owner could cover alone.

How much is pet insurance in Canada?

Pet insurance in Canada is priced by quote, based on factors such as species, breed, age and postal code. Three of the seven insurers compared here publish figures: Fetch states an average of $35/mo. for dogs and $22/mo. for cats, calculated on a $10,000 annual limit, $300 deductible and 80% reimbursement, July 2024 to June 2025; Desjardins lists averages from $44 a month for a dog and $31 for a cat on its Bronze Paw plan to $203 a month for a dog and $126 for a cat on Gold Paw; and Sonnet says the typical pet owner pays $43 to $84 a month for a dog and $27 to $50 for a cat. A higher limit, lower deductible or higher reimbursement percentage raises the premium, so two quotes for the same pet can differ widely. Getting quotes with the same deductible and percentage makes them comparable.

Is pet insurance worth it in Canada?

Pet insurance is worth it mainly when a large, sudden vet bill would be hard to pay from savings. The premium buys protection against a surgery or long illness, not a guaranteed return: a healthy pet may cost more in premiums than it ever claims. Owners who keep an emergency fund large enough for a major surgery can self-insure; owners who could not cover a four-figure bill have the most to gain. Pre-existing conditions are excluded, so a policy started while a pet is young and healthy has the fewest exclusions.

What does pet insurance cover in Canada?

Accident and illness plans cover new injuries and illnesses after the waiting period: diagnostics, surgery, hospital stays and prescription drugs, within the plan's limits. Petsecure, Furkin and Sonnet also count exam fees and taxes, and Fetch covers the sick-visit exam fee, while Trupanion says exam fees are not covered. Routine care such as vaccines and flea prevention needs a wellness add-on or a higher plan tier: Pets Plus Us offers Routine Wellness up to $260/year; Advanced Wellness up to $530/year and Fetch offers up to $1,200/yr. for preventive care.

Does pet insurance cover pre-existing conditions in Canada?

Generally no. The insurers compared here exclude, or say they may not cover, conditions that showed signs before coverage began or during the waiting period, even if a vet never diagnosed them; Pets Plus Us says pre-existing conditions are not covered, even if not yet diagnosed. There are two partial exceptions. At Fetch, curable pre-existing conditions can be covered after 1 policy year symptom-free, such as a urinary tract infection. Petsecure says some exclusions for a non-recurring issue, such as an ear infection, can be reviewed on request once the pet is symptom-free. Trupanion lets owners request a Medical Record Summary at enrolment that lists what it treats as pre-existing, so the exclusions are known up front.

How soon can you claim on pet insurance?

Claims for a new problem are only paid once the waiting period ends. Petsecure applies 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for cruciate ligament injuries, disc disease and dental. Pets Plus Us applies 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, and Furkin applies 48 hours for accidents, 14 days for illnesses, 180 days for cruciate ligament conditions. Fetch has no waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses. Deadlines to file also differ: Fetch allows 90 days from the invoice date, Petsecure 6 months after the date of treatment, and Trupanion a full year.

What is a deductible in pet insurance?

The deductible is the part of an eligible bill the owner pays before the insurer reimburses anything. Most of the plans compared here use an annual deductible: Petsecure has one annual deductible, not per condition, and Desjardins charges one deductible per year, based on the pet's age. Trupanion instead uses a lifetime per-incident deductible (paid once per condition, not once a year). Many deductibles rise with age: Petsecure's rises once after age 5 and again after age 10. The order also matters, because Petsecure and Furkin apply co-insurance first, then the deductible, which changes the payout on the same bill.

Does pet insurance cover spaying, neutering, vaccines or dental cleanings?

Spaying, neutering, vaccines and flea prevention are planned, routine costs, so a standard accident and illness policy does not pay for them; they need a wellness add-on or a higher plan tier. Dental cleanings vary: Sonnet's page says annual cleanings are covered, and Petsecure says every plan has a yearly amount for routine dental care. Fetch Wellness reimburses up to $1,200/yr. for preventive care; Pets Plus Us offers Routine Wellness up to $260/year; Advanced Wellness up to $530/year; Desjardins covers preventive care (dental cleanings, vaccination, flea treatments) on some plans; and Petsecure includes wellness coverage on Secure 4 only. On Sonnet's page, preventive care is listed among covered items (no amount stated). Trupanion has no routine, wellness or preventive care coverage, and Furkin has no wellness add-on yet (announced as coming). Wellness money is capped per year.

How much is Costco pet insurance in Canada?

Costco in Canada sells Pets Plus Us pet insurance rather than its own plan, and the price is still set by quote for each pet. Costco's page says members receive 10% off for Gold Star and Business members, 15% off for Executive members, and new Pets Plus Us clients get the first month complimentary. The coverage rules are the regular Pets Plus Us ones: a choice of Accident, or Accident & Illness, with Accident and Illness paying 70%, 80% or 90% of the bill, including tax.

Can you insure an older dog or cat in Canada?

Yes, but enrolment ages differ. Petsecure has no age limits (extra medical information for dogs over 8 and cats over 10). Fetch covers pets 6 weeks and older with no upper-age limits. Trupanion accepts cats and dogs under 14 years of age, and Furkin requires the pet to be at least 7 weeks old and under 14 years at enrolment; both then keep renewing for life. Any condition an older pet already has will be excluded as pre-existing, and deductibles often step up with age, so the useful part of the policy is protection against new problems.

Is Fetch pet insurance good in Canada?

Fetch has several features that stand out on paper: a choice of 70%, 80% or 90%, no waiting period for accidents and a 15-day waiting period for illnesses, coverage of the sick-visit exam fee, no upper-age limits, and coverage of curable pre-existing conditions after a symptom-free year. The trade-offs are that Fetch offers no direct vet payment; reimbursement only, so the owner pays the vet first, and claims must be filed within 90 days from the invoice date. Whether it fits depends on the quote for the specific pet.

Can you use any vet with pet insurance in Canada?

Yes, with the five insurers whose pages address it, the owner chooses the clinic. Pets Plus Us allows any licensed veterinarian across Canada, Fetch allows any vet in Canada or the U.S., Petsecure and Furkin also accept any licensed vet, and Trupanion names specialists and emergency hospitals as well. The difference is payment: most insurers reimburse the owner after the bill is paid, while Trupanion also offers direct payment at over 11,000 veterinary clinics and hospitals in the US and Canada.

Rules, rates and sources

Last verified
Next scheduled check

Official sources

How we check figures: our methodology and editorial policy.

General information for education, not financial, tax, legal or immigration advice. Rules change — confirm anything you act on with the official source or a licensed professional (for immigration, a lawyer or a licensed consultant registered with the College of Immigration and Citizenship Consultants).